Preview: Showa 282-02 || Winter-ized + black

After reviewing the Showa 281 and 282 gloves two years ago (281 review, 282 review), I contacted Showa urging them to develop a more outdoor recreation-specific version. In particular, I wanted to see a rain mitt (not glove) in a subtler color and with a wrist cinch.

I got no response and dropped it. Their loss.

So I was surprised last month to receive an email from Showa, saying, “We really appreciate your comments about our gloves and we have a new style that accommodates some of the items you mentioned in your blog. If you could reach out to me with your address and glove size I’ll send you a sample to try.”

Preview: Showa 282-02 Gloves

The new Showa 282-02 ($20, 4.1 oz in size Large) is not an improved rain mitt so much as a winterized version of the 282. It will be available in August 2020 from LFS Marine & Outdoor.

The chief differences between the 282 and 282-02 are:

  • Draft collar with elasticized cinch, and
  • Black color.
The new Showa 282-02 is a winterized version of the 282.

If you own or have read about the 282, the 282-02 will otherwise sound familiar:

It’s made of the same waterproof/breathable polyurethane, branded as Tem-Res. This rubbery material has proven to be exceptionally waterproof and durable, and I’ve used the 282’s in ways that I never would use shell mitts made of conventional WP/B fabrics like the REI Minimalist Mitts, such as breaking pointy spruce branches for firewood and cleaning leaves out of my gutters.

The 282-02 has the same acrylic liner as the 282. When new, it effectively traps hand warmth and protects from conductive heat loss. But with use it will delaminate, and at that time I recommend cutting it out and substituting it with a separate liner glove. This two-piece system has the added advantage of being easier to dry.

The fit of the 282-02 is also the same as the 282. Refer to my 282 review for a fit guide. As a general comment, they fit small — like Montbell, it’s Japanese sizing, not American.

Optimal applications

The 282-02 can certainly be used as a rain glove. It will perform similarly to the 282, but be marginally warmer because of the seal-able collar. The collar is not waterproof, however, so the 282-02 cuff is still a potential entry point for moisture.

The 282-02 is primarily designed as a winter recreation glove. It will particularly excel with wet frozen precipitation — like sleet, slush, and heavy snow — that would overwhelm most other waterproof handwear. It might be the ultimate glove for snowball fights.

I’m wary of offering an ideal temperature range, because this will vary by person and activity. My hands are generally cold, and the 282/282-02 reaches their comfort threshold when running in the low-10’s and downhill skiing in the upper 20’s.

Questions about or reactions to the 282-02? Leave a comment.


Disclosure. I strive to offer field-tested and trustworthy information, insights, and advice. I have no financial affiliations with or interests in any brands or products, and I do not publish sponsored content

This website is supported by affiliate marketing, whereby for referral traffic I receive a small commission from select vendors like Amazon or REI, at no cost to the reader.

Posted in , on January 7, 2020
Tags:

27 Comments

  1. Debby Carnine on January 7, 2020 at 11:21 am

    The wrist cinch is a move in the right direction. Showa, if you’re reading this, we still need an insulated mitt–not glove.

  2. Bruce Lemieux on January 7, 2020 at 11:40 am

    Oh no! Just when I got the smurf blue one! 🙂 You’re right about the sizing – they run super small. I got the 281s in large to run with no liner, and the extra large with a glove liner. I really need an XXL (which I don’t think exists) to accomodate a glove liner… or find a thinner liner for the XL.

    • Wild Bill on January 18, 2020 at 2:31 am

      Yes, they run small. I also need a XXL or a XXXL. On the XL gloves the fingers are too short. And the knuckle on my right hand binds with the glove, making it not as warm as it good be. I also use the gloves for boondocking snowmobiling, which if you don’t know tends to be a very powdery ride and thus wet. my $100 mittens are useless for this kind of riding. I also use the gloves for ALL winter chores outside. They are great! I don’t think Showa realizes their “niche” product is about to fundamentally change winter in the U.S. I highly recommend sizes up to XXXXL. This would accommodate separate liners inside their gloves. It’s great glove that’s about to get greater!

    • Jay Anderson on February 7, 2020 at 11:23 am

      Bruce, I have a pair of XXL – they exist!

  3. Victoria Livschitz on January 8, 2020 at 1:13 am

    I tried 282, but couldn’t get comfortable, so it’s not for me.

  4. Richard Nisley on January 9, 2020 at 9:54 pm

    Andrew,

    Thank you for this valuable Showa information. I also would like Showa and/or Columbia to make a shell mitten with their Permanent Waterproof Breathable (PWPB) materials. There is a major market void for this type of product.

    • Christopher Sinclair on May 25, 2021 at 12:39 am

      Richard,

      Columbia actually at one point did make a shell glove out of Outdry EX ( I had to search Ebay for over 2 years until they finally cameup – luckily in my size too of mens large!). I am planning to buy these Showa’s for more abrasive activities but the Columbia gloves are fully taped and sealed and reasonably light (they seem to be a slightly thicker Outdry EX than the lightweight jacket but not by much). I have no idea why Columbia only made them for a limited time but they are far and away my favorite glove.

  5. Jeff on January 16, 2020 at 9:32 am

    I love my 282s that I got based upon your previous recommendation and looking forward to these coming out. Thankfully having a grandmother from Japan, they fit me, well, like a glove 😉

  6. Jim Carretta on January 17, 2020 at 7:09 am

    The blue smurf style is garish, but warm. They do run small. I ordered a large for a guy with small hands, they just fit without a liner.

  7. Jay Anderson on February 7, 2020 at 11:26 am

    I skied with my Blue 282’s (XXL) on a wet-snow day this year. They worked perfectly and kept my hands warmer than I expected. It was a warm day, but my hands get cold easily, so it was a good test. I will absolutely take them on every trip to Alaska – can’t imagine a better product for backpacking in the rain.

  8. Will on February 16, 2020 at 11:29 am

    This is AWESOME!

  9. James Johnston on April 12, 2020 at 4:57 pm

    Here’s another review of it…. it’s quite readable after Google Translate… the pictures are interesting – lots of people in Japan wearing these gloves (or the blue ones)! https://yama-guide.com/2018/03/28/temuresu/

  10. Patrick Ploenzke on May 11, 2020 at 9:01 am

    I thought I would check in with the US distributor for these gloves hoping the release in the US was moved up.

    Response:
    Thanks for the inquiry for our 282-02 TemRes glove, These will be available in the US thru LFS in September of 2020.

    LFS Marine & Outdoor store

  11. Peter Trescher on May 12, 2020 at 12:23 pm

    There is a glove made in Canada by Superior Glove, called the “North Sea 11″ Winter Nitrile Glove”, that has a better lining and is rated to -15C. https://www.superiorglove.com/en/north-sea-11-winter-nitrile-coated-gloves. Judging by their sizing guide it seems to fit closer to North American sizing.

  12. Lyle Cross on August 11, 2020 at 3:16 pm

    Andrew, any update on these gloves. The site you mention in your review does not sell them yet and they did not show up in my search at Showa site. I’m guessing their release has been delayed by the COVID situation?

    • Andrew Skurka on August 11, 2020 at 3:26 pm

      I’ve not heard or been told anything.

  13. Lagrandeimage on September 29, 2020 at 3:45 pm

    Well I was going to ask the same question as Lyle Cross did in August but the answer is probable the same? I hope they start selling them at one point! 🙂

  14. Slim on December 15, 2020 at 10:30 am

    These would be the perfect kids glove!
    Most kids are always digging in the snow, no matter how wet it is.
    Kids grab and manipulate many things.
    Most parents don’t want to buy expensive gloves for there kids.

    So cheap, waterproof breathable, I and grippy, checks all boxes for kids!
    If only I could find a place selling Small and XS sizes!

    • Jay Anderson on December 17, 2020 at 12:15 pm

      Slim, they run at least one size small. You might want to try a set of mediums for bigger kids. I agree that they are the perfect solution for kids.

  15. Lyle Cross on December 16, 2020 at 9:51 pm

    Andrew,
    I just noticed this model, 282-02 (black), is now available at Go2Marine.com. I ordered a pair in size XL and a second in XXL. Showa does have a glove sizing chart that can be printed. Based on my measurements using that chart where I would normally wear a size Large, I measured closer to XL. I am hoping the XXL will comfortably accommodate a liner.

    • Jay Anderson on December 17, 2020 at 12:17 pm

      Thanks for the heads up Lyle! I ordered a set of the black ones in XXL. I have the blue ones in XL and XXL and prefer the bigger size. I’m XL in most gloves. You’ll probably manage a thin liner in the XXL.

  16. Lyle Cross on December 17, 2020 at 4:13 pm

    You’re welcome Jay. I was glad to see that Showa Group was able to get these into production. I wear some of their other gloves and have been very happy with them. I’m looking forward to giving these a try.

  17. Josh on May 9, 2021 at 3:02 am

    I ordered a pair of these along with a couple of 406s. The 282-02s ROCK. I need to grab a few more pairs before the general alpine community gets wind of these. I used them this morning starting around 35F in light rain, taking them up Silver Peak to practice self-arrest/crampons. Up top, it was low-mid 20s, light snow breaking to some Sun. They were on and off, used with wet poles, cold axe head, and directly on the snow during the self-arrest drills and performed so well. They never wetted out, my hands weren’t cold and in fact required hand cream after because of how dry they were. I could literally feel them breathing. The cinches were really easy to use and they follow standard Showa sizing (small, but accurate if you use their sizing printoff). I took a chance on these before buying into an expensive “system” and it paid off. Can’t wait to take these up Aasgard and through the Enchantments in a couple of weeks for my permit. Probably the most solid and reliable piece of gear I own now. Watch out Goretex, Showa is onto something! Thanks for your diligence in making these a reality and thanks Showa for taking the chance on these. Once they make it to Amazon, the game is going to change for a lot of Alpinists.

  18. Christopher Sinclair on May 25, 2021 at 12:59 am

    Andrew,

    Wondering if you have heard of or tried the Temres 03 “Advance” model?

    https://www.showaglove.co.jp/product/detail/professional/720#0

    Found it on their japanese site only. It appears to be very similar to the 282-02 Winter but without any built in liner – it still has the wrist cuff and everything.

    • Andrew Skurka on May 25, 2021 at 8:49 am

      Wasn’t even aware of them.

      • Christopher Sinclair on May 25, 2021 at 10:51 am

        I contacted them asking if they will be coming to the US and if I could test them – could be interesting to use in warmer weather or for people with smaller hands since they come in a size small.

        Too bad they do not have mittens made of the same material – a thin shell mitt from the Temres polyurethane would be very interesting indeed

        • Kevin on August 14, 2021 at 1:08 pm

          You can buy them from Amazon Japan, some sizes are fulfilled by Amazon and ship to the US. However, reading the reviews it appears they are not sized the same as the lined version. Several reviews state they are too small for a liner glove:

          “Taking advantage of Temless’s moisture-permeable waterproof performance, I bought it to use it in winter with inner gloves, but
          even the largest LL size is too small to use only a thin inner. It can only be used for low mountain snow play, so it does not fit the price.”

Leave a Comment