Review: Gore Wear H5 Gore-Tex Shakedry Jacket || The holy grail?

Nearly four years ago we first heard about Shakedry, a new “permanently beading” waterproof/breathable membrane technology from Gore-Tex that eliminated the need for a DWR-treated face fabric and that purportedly wouldn’t wet-out. If true, that’d be a big deal, because it would solve one source of failure of modern rain shells.

The North Face was first-to-market, launching its HyperAir Jacket ($250, 6 oz, discontinued) in a miraculously fast 12 weeks.

In December 2015 I speculated that we were on the cusp of a category revolution. Earlier that year Columbia had released a heavier but technologically similar fabric, OutDry Extreme. And I thought it was only a matter of time until Gore-affiliated brands embraced Shakedry and until Asian mills reverse-engineered Shakedry and OutDry Extreme, leading to additional distribution and innovation.

But that didn’t happen. Today, it’s shockingly difficult to find Shakedry products — shell pants are simply nonexistent, and shell jackets are available from just a few brands.

As far as I know, the Gore Wear H5 Gore-Tex Shakedry Hooded Jacket ($380, 8 oz) is the only backpacking-worthy shell currently available. It’s made of a new heavier Shakedry variant that can better withstand abrasion from heavy packs and brush.

An H5 Shakedry was sent to me by a Gore Wear media rep this spring for testing. Gore Wear is a Gore-owned apparel company that focuses mostly on bike and run. It has a greater presence in Europe than the US.

Navigating by GPS over a 4,000-foot alpine pass during whiteout conditions in Alaska’s Brooks Range, being kept dry by the H5 Shakedry. Photo: Chip Wood

Review: Gore Wear H5 Gore-Tex Shakedry Jacket

Is the Gore Wear H5 Gore-Tex Shakedry Hooded Jacket a game-changer?

I’m cautiously optimistic that it does represent a step-up in waterproof/breathable performance. But take note that this is not a “long-term review” — by design or luck, I had good weather on most of my 2019 trips.

This year I took it into the field for about forty-five days. But it was tested only during five days of persistent rain in West Virginia, one soggy day in Alaska’s Brooks Range, and one afternoon of torrential rains in Yosemite. Later this week while elk hunting in Colorado, it will probably also see some light snow and ferocious winds. I’ve noticed no change in performance from when it was new, which is more than you can say about most WP/B jackets after being touched with oily hands and shoved into a pack for 6 weeks.

Torrential afternoon showers in Yosemite

The H5 Shakedry is best suited for hiking and backpacking in the Mountain West, where it does not rain often or for long (usually), and where rain is often accompanied by cooler temperatures.

While its breathability is very good for a waterproof-breathable garment, direct venting features like torso/pit zips and mesh-backed front pockets would be appreciated in warmer and more humid climates like the Appalachians and Alaska. To use Gore Wear’s nomenclature, this would be a H7 Shakedry Jacket.

But there is no H7 Shakedry (yet or ever?), and I’d still pick the H5 Shakedry in such conditions if my other option was made of a traditional WP/B laminate — the benefits of a permanently beading surface outweigh the H5 Shakedry’s minimalist design. Although, in really wet conditions, I’d consider supplementing it with a lightweight umbrella, which proved to be a powerful combination in West Virginia.

More recently, my H5 is weighing 8.2 oz (232 grams) for size Large, which is really a US size Medium.

The H5 Shakedry could serve double-duty for running and biking — it weighs only 8 oz, packs down small, and has an athletic cut. But if hiking is not your primary activity, you might want to look at other Shakedry shells that are lighter, softer, and more activity-specific.

Key product specs

  • Gore-Tex Active fabric with Shakedry technology
  • Two-way front zipper
  • Two large zippered front pockets, both of which serve as a stuff sack
  • Hat-compatible hood has drawcord adjustment and stiffened brim
  • Partially elasticized wrist cuffs
  • 8.2 oz (232 g) in size Large (confirmed)
  • $380 MSRP
  • More information

Other H5 and Shakedry jackets

The H5 Shakedry is not to be confused with other H5 products from Gore Wear, specifically the:

  • H5 Gore-Tex Active, which is made of a more traditional 2.5-layer laminate;
  • H5 Gore-Tex Shakedry Insulated, which has a Polartec Alpha lining; or the,
  • H5 Gore Windstopper Jacket, which is not waterproof.

Among other Shakedry shells, the H5 is unique for its fabric weight. As far as I know, all other Shakedry jackets use the original variant that is lighter but less durable, making it more appropriate for trail running, biking, and day-hiking. Specifically:

Thru-hikers have used this lighter fabric weight, but it’d seem limited to very lightweight packs and well maintained trails.

It’s worth nothing that cycling-specific Shakedry shells are made by Gore Wear and Rapha, the ritzy bike brand. These models lack hoods.

Fit and sizing

If you don’t read this section, you’ll get the wrong size, guaranteed. The H5 Shakedry has a “Form Fit,” which Gore Wear describes as:

Not skin tight, but also not excessively baggy, Form Fit garments provide a sporting silhouette without being body hugging. If you normally fall halfway between two sizes we recommend taking the larger one.

Based on my experience, Gore Wear is being too conservative with its sizing recommendation, especially for the US market. Mine is simpler: Buy one size up.

Normally I’m a slim fit Medium. Small tops fit me in the chest and shoulders, but the sleeves are too short. Standard size Mediums are oversized in the body.

My H5 Shakedry is a Large, and it’s the right size for me. It has an athletic cut, and a mid-layer fits nicely underneath. I can add a lightweight puffy jacket, too, but it’s at the expense of some loft and agility.

In wet-and-cold West Virginia with co-guide Matt Bright, who is wearing a Packa, BTW. My H5 Shakedry is a size Large, which is a full size larger than I normally wear. A mid-layer fits nicely underneath, and if I’m really desperate I can squeze a puffy in there, too, but it’s pretty tight and restrictive. Photo: Ben Black.

Shakedry fabric

The most unique feature of the H5 Shakedry is its fabric: Gore-Tex Active with Shakedry technology. Unlike other waterproof/breathable fabrics (including standard Active), the PTFE/Teflon membrane is on the outside. It’s not sandwiched inside a laminate or protected by a DWR-treated face fabric.

The original Active with Shakedry — as used in aforementioned HyperAir and Norvant — is insufficiently durable for backpacking, per Gore’s usage guidelines. The H5 Shakedry uses a new heavier Shakedry variant that can better withstand abrasion from heavy packs and brush. Mine seemed unfazed by a 40-pound guide pack or by bushwhacking through alder and willow.

Dave Eitemiller busts through an alder thicket on the south side of the Brooks Range. The H5 Shakedry proved resistant to such bushwhacking.

Gore claims that Active with Shakedry will not wet out. So far this has been my experience, and I’ve enjoyed the benefits. The jacket:

  • Dries quickly even without shaking it, because water evaporates or falls off it;
  • Does not gain weight during storms;
  • Remains more comfortable in cold temperatures, because my body heat is no longer being sucked away by a saturated face fabric; and,
  • Is less likely to wet through, because the relative humidity outside the jacket stays less than the humidity inside.

Many rain jackets work well when new-ish, and I can’t yet attest to the H5 Shakedry’s long-term performance. But I’m encouraged by the experience of Garret Workman, who used the TNF HyperAir Jacket on a 100-day thru-hike of the Appalachian Trail (his review) and who reported recently that it’s still performing well after three years (his update).

The exterior is smooth and glossy. The interior has a micro-mesh layer for next-to-skin comfort. The seams are taped on the inside.

Per Gore, Active with Shakedry is “one of the most breathable GORE-TEX laminates available.” You’d be right to read that with a gain of salt — Gore has been the King of Hype for decades, and has made many such hyperbolic statements before. I’ve not seen MVTR test results for the H5, but Montbell cites an off-the-charts rating of 80,000g/m2/24hrs (JIS L-1099 B-1 method) for its Peak Dry Jacket.

Intuitively, Gore might be right, however: Its fabrics are constantly improving, and the Shakedry technology eliminates an entire layer from the laminate. Anecdotally, it’s difficult for me to say: testing temperatures were cool; the trips were all guided, so my output was sub-max; and I run cooler than average, so I’m usually the last to complain about lackluster breathability.

Features

The Shakedry fabric sets the H5 apart. The remainder of the jacket is well designed, but more ordinary.

The water-resistant two-way front zipper can be opened from the bottom, in order to vent the torso and to sit down without stressing the fabric or the zipper.

The front pockets are convenient, and mostly useful even while wearing a backpack with a hipbelt. But they’re not a “venting option” as suggested by the product specs. The backer fabric is, at best, water-resistant, and it could be WP/B — it’s difficult to tell. To vent in any meaningful way, the liner fabric would have to be mesh.

A close-up of the 2-way front zipper and the front pocket zipper.

The hat-compatible hood fits well, has a semi-stiff double-layer brim, and has one drawcord adjustment to help keep it out of your eyes. Still, though, every hood I’ve ever used performs better when paired with a ballcap or visor.

The simple but well designed hood. Not my best photo — I think I may have a bat in the cave.

The waist drawcord and draft collar improves fit and comfort when running and day-hiking without a pack. But a hipbelt will do the same thing.

The partially elasticized wrist cuffs are consistent with the H5 Shakedry’s minimalist design, but they’re my chief complaint about the jacket. Looser cuffs with hook-and-loop adjustment flaps would be better: they’d offer more airflow, could be more easily shingled with rain mitts, and wouldn’t hinder access to a wrist watch.

I’d prefer looser wrist cuffs with hook-and-loop adjustment flaps. The H5 Shakedry cuffs fit so tightly that I can’t even pull them over my watch.

Leave a comment!

  • What questions do you have about the H5 or about Shakedry?
  • Do you have an experience with the H5 or with another shell made of Shakedry? Please share.

Disclosure. I strive to offer field-tested and trustworthy information, insights, and advice. I have no financial affiliations with or interests in any brands or products, and I do not publish sponsored content

This website is supported by affiliate marketing, whereby for referral traffic I receive a small commission from select vendors like Amazon or REI, at no cost to the reader.

Posted in , on October 21, 2019
Tags:

48 Comments

  1. Don Root on October 21, 2019 at 6:02 pm

    How does it compare with Columbia’s Outdry Extreme? I bought that Columbia jacket, and while I think the design could be better, the Outdry material seems great, especially given the light weight.

    • Andrew Skurka on October 21, 2019 at 6:42 pm

      I have the Diamond Shell, which was one of the original OutDry Extreme models in 2016. It weighs 13.7 oz in size Medium, which fits more like a Large: it’s designed as a winter shell (pit zips, helmet-compatible hood), and I regularly put a mid-layer and large puffy jacket under it when I’m alpine skiing and hunting. I haven’t use it in much rain — for 3-season trips it’s always seemed too heavy.

      The OutDry Extreme fabric is stiffer and thicker than the Shakedry, and also matte instead of glossy. I think it’s reasonable to assume that the Outdry is more durable, just based on its weight, but I’m not going to test that, sorry.

      I have not handled the OutDry Extreme Featherweight fabric, but based on jacket specs (8.8 oz, with similar feature set) I bet it’s closer in feel and durability to the Shakedry. Huge cost difference though — the Featherweight retails for almost half the price.

      As a cosmetic issue, it’s worth noting that the Shakedry seams are sealed inside the jacket, not outside as with the OutDry Extreme.

  2. Ben on October 21, 2019 at 6:27 pm

    Oddly, gore windstopper is actually wp/b. The specific H5 jacket may not be wp/b if they don’t seal the seams, but the fabric is. I don’t know why they choose to market it as non-wp/b. (Ex: Montbell Versalite – https://www.montbell.us/products/disp.php?cat_id=25013&p_id=2328169&gen_cd=1)

    • Ben on October 23, 2019 at 2:01 pm

      I almost accidentally purchased the wrong type of Gore H5 Shakedry – I was in a rush because it was heavily discounted, it was luck I was interrupted and when I went back noticed it was INFINIUM.

      Personally I don’t appreciate Gore’s naming methodology – if it’s an H5 ShakeDry I expect it to be waterproof, not water resistant.

      • Ben R on October 23, 2019 at 2:05 pm

        Ugggh, sorry, just realised I’ve unhelpfully used the same handle as the poster I was replying to. The above two posts are by two different Bens!

      • Carl hintze on January 15, 2020 at 1:45 pm

        Isnt the regular h5 shakedry called infinium then?

        Isnt this the same jacket that Andrew has?

        https://www.addnature.com/gore-wear-h5-gore-tex-shakedry-hooded-jacket-herr-M502692.html?vgid=G881148

        • Tim on January 15, 2020 at 4:57 pm

          Infinium is not shakedry.
          Shakedry is a 2 layer ePTFE material (the outer nylon laminate is gone).
          Infinium is not even waterproof.
          Some Infinium has a windstopper membrane (again not waterproof)
          I think the Infinium material is some kind of woven PTFE mix (speculation), so the effective pore size would let water through, but the PTFE would allow the material to dry quicker, breath and block wind. Gore has terrible naming conventions.

  3. Avi Sander on October 21, 2019 at 11:04 pm

    Montbell’s Peakdry also uses this fabric AFAIK https://www.montbell.us/products/disp.php?p_id=1128632. I’ve used it in Sweden this year and was really impressed by it.

    • Andrew Skurka on October 22, 2019 at 8:35 am

      Good find. They need to work on their SEO — it does not come up quickly when searching for Gore-Tex Shakedry.

      Do you know what fabric weight is used in this jacket? I’m uncertain that it’s the heavier version used in the H5. Most of the original Shakedry jackets spec at 4 to 5 oz; the H5 is 8.2, with only about 0.5 oz of fat (in the waist drawcord). The Peak Dry sits at 6.5 oz. It’s difficult for me to see how it could be 1.5 oz heavier than the lighter versions, but also 1.5 oz lighter than the H5.

      The product description is what worries me more. It says, “This construction does have its limitations. Care needs to be taken, avoiding situations where the jacket is subject to abrasion. We see this jacket demonstrating its true value on missions that are short and don’t require heavy packs. Backpackers with heavier loads or thru-hikers that have a light pack but intend to use it every day for 6 months would be better off going with a different option.”

      When I was sent the H5, it was not given these instructions. Those qualifications sound more similar to what you hear of brands using the lighter Shakedry version.

    • Ben R on October 24, 2019 at 1:18 am

      I’ve stumbled across the Dynafit Glockner Ultra Shakedry jacket, which seems to have some sort of expansion zip at the back to help accommodate a backpack – maybe under the jacket?
      No photos of that feature in use though.

      • Kim on October 25, 2019 at 1:32 pm

        Hi Ben et al

        There is a video showing the Dynafit over a backpack. Check out YouTube.

        • Ben R on October 27, 2019 at 4:18 pm

          Thanks Kim, that was interesting. The expansion pouch was actually smaller than I was expecting – perhaps more for bladders or runners tiny backpacks.

          Still, an interesting solution to the issue of pack straps over the top of delicate shakedry material.

  4. Jo Jo on October 23, 2019 at 7:01 am

    I know this a review of the jacket, but what are the mittens you are wearing in the last photo? I’ve given up on WP/B and got a Lightheart Gear non-breathable jacket with huge pit zips that I think works better (also no wet-out, more durable, and at least as good at keeping down condensation as WP/B), but hands were my weak point recently on the A.T. in 40 degree, all day long, rain.

    • Andrew Skurka on October 23, 2019 at 7:51 am

      Shows 282, https://andrewskurka.com/review-showa-282-gloves-cold-wet-conditions/

      Wear them until the liner delaminates, then remove the liner and pair with heavy fleece or wool kit gloves.

      • Tim on November 5, 2019 at 6:03 pm

        Btw I can recommend the Montane Vortex gloves.
        Strangely hard to find a light gore-tex glove for wet trail running.

  5. Lagrandeimage on October 25, 2019 at 10:21 am

    Hello Andrew,

    Great review as always!

    According to you what is the reason the revolution has not happened, since the fabric seems to deliver? Prices?

    Cheers,

    • Andrew Skurka on October 26, 2019 at 10:08 pm

      I think the fabric is pricey, and Gore requires of its partner brands a minimum buy. So only a few brands have been confident enough to give it a go.

  6. Roman on October 25, 2019 at 10:47 am

    As usual, great review Andrew!

    It seems that the R7 Shakedry Trail Hooded Jacket (as opposed to the R7 Shakedry Hooded Jacket – Gore’s labelling is just so confusing!) uses the same fabric as the H5 Jacket reviewed above: https://www.gorewear.com/us/en-us/gore-r7-gore-tex-shakedry-trail-hooded-jacket-100457.html The main difference with the H5 seems to be that the two front pockets were replaced by a small chest pocket. Zipper, hood & wrist cuffs look identical. The R7 Shakedry Trail is 80 USD cheaper and discounted versions seem more easily available, so potentially a useful alternative to the H5.

    • Aidan on November 28, 2019 at 9:14 am

      I’m not convinced the R7 Shakedry Trail uses the same material as the H5. In the product description for the R7, they describe the fabric as “Our most breathable GORE-TEX laminate”. That description is conspicuously absent in the description of the H5. Further, the listed weight of the R7 Trail is 6.2oz, while the H5 is 8.3oz. I’m not sure the loss of one pocket can account for a 2.1oz weight difference. That suggests that a lighter-weight fabric was used in the R7 Trail.

      That said, Gore isn’t explicit about what material they use for each jacket, which makes it hard to know for sure.

  7. Kim on October 25, 2019 at 1:35 pm

    Hi Andrew

    Any experience with the Arc’teryx Norvan using a light backpack?

    • Andrew Skurka on October 25, 2019 at 2:35 pm

      I don’t, maybe someone else can chime in.

      Define “light pack.”

      The Norvan is made of the same fabric used for the TNF HyperAir. If you follow the links in the post, you’ll find Garrett’s reviews about that. Also check out the post of an REI employee on the r/Ultralight post about this review.

      • Kim on October 27, 2019 at 12:49 am

        Hi Andrew

        A “light pack” will (in my definition) be an Osprey Talon 22 a like size for a day hike.

  8. Kyle on November 1, 2019 at 7:00 pm

    This was just released and kind of interesting…

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3pAKc2TXbFk

    I’m usually not a fan of combining insulation with a waterproof layer in a backpacking layering system as I would rather have multiple layers instead of one. But it is good to see that Arcteryx is continuing to innovate with Shakedry. Their site does not list the denier of the face fabric used. I believe this is only other product they have made with Shakedry other than the Norvan SL.

    • Andrew Skurka on November 1, 2019 at 8:15 pm

      That was a pathetically cheesy video, what I expected something much better.

      When I was writing this post I came across that product. They lined the jacket with highly breathable fleece from polartec. As you pointed out coming up having two separate garments would give you greater flexibility.

      • Thibaud GW on February 28, 2020 at 7:32 pm

        Could you reccomend a rain shell that is sub $250? Maybe your favorite best value she’ll.

        • Andrew Skurka on February 28, 2020 at 8:25 pm

          I’ll give you a few, starting lowest to highest (but still less than $250):
          Frogg Toggs
          Precip
          Helium
          Visp

          • Thibaud Guerin-Williams on February 29, 2020 at 11:30 am

            Ya I personally carry the good old Toggs in situations where there’s relatively low precipitation or not continuous enough to warrant a breathable shell. But I want to do more hiking in areas with unpredictable weather. I didn’t know if there was something you had stumbled on where you were pleasantly surprised by the performance.

            I have a torrid apex jacket and somehow totally forgot about the Visp! I’ll check it out. Thank you.



          • Andrew Skurka on February 29, 2020 at 3:57 pm

            I’ve got a preview coming about the Visp. It’s a lot of performance for its weight, but it’s still only 5 oz for jacket and 4 oz for pants, mostly because EE used a VERY light 3-layer fabric. I’m not sure it’d be the jacket I’d trust for extended rain and long-term use, but it’s a good option for a lot of my trips, which tend to be in the semi-arid Mountain West.



  9. Alex Rodenberg on November 15, 2019 at 8:05 am

    Can’t wait to hear more about the durability long term on this 🙂

  10. PS on December 3, 2019 at 7:20 am

    On my last backpack outing my several years old Westcomb Apoc wetted out for the first time leaving me very sad and ready to start looking for a new shell. Please keep us posted with long term reviews of this and any new updates about the material!! Always great content Andrew, thanks!

  11. Seb on December 29, 2019 at 2:35 am

    Regarding the TNF HyperAir: Mine is no longer performing 🙁

    I have owned it for two years and have used it very regularly over the past year for cycling and day hikes with a light pack (4-6kg). Water still beads off the surface but somehow also soaks through the membrane, even after only about 15 minutes in light rain. Water soaks directly through the membrane around the shoulders (maybe due to the use of a pack?) but also all along the inner arm area. No problems with abrasion and durability, apart from the loss of waterproofness.

    Overall, was a great jacket while it worked, but not worth the price/useful life of the jacket. It is now relegated to a wind shirt. It seems the shake dry fabric is just not durable enough…

  12. Eric on January 9, 2020 at 10:06 pm

    Counterpoint to Seb, my long-term review of the original (ca. 2015) TFN Hyperair – I decided to heed the warnings and never wore a backpack over mine.

    Located 100km north of Montreal, Canada. For 3+ years I’ve worn it all winter as a windbreaker / snow & rain shell over cheap Costco puffy jackets. This is my everyday setup and it’s unbelievably versatile for all conditions ranging from +5C to -25C in dry, snowy or rainy weather. Mesh pockets allow more airflow in warm weather, while drawstrings and velcro cuffs help retain heat when it’s cold.

    I’ve never had water soak through it even in torrential downpours, and it still looks exactly as the day I got it. Material feels flimsy but has held up so far without a single tear despite being snagged a few times.

    Overall I’m 100% satisfied and I’ll probably pick up another to use when (if?) mine ever wears out. My only complaint: I wish the hood had an Arcteryx-style peak instead of sloping straight down my forehead. I can vouch for the durability of the Gore-Tex Active (now called Gore-Tex Shakedry) fabric

  13. jon on January 19, 2020 at 3:30 pm

    i’ve had the tnf hyperair since 2017. i bought it immediately after my marmot precip wet out halfway through the TMB and could not be restored with nikwax. prior to that, my precip had wet out in iceland and my arms went numb from cold even with a baselayer, R1 and ghost whisperer underneath. a rain jacket that wets out is a huge disadvantage in cold, wet, windy conditions. when a jacket wets out and the wind is blowing hard, the process of water evaporating from a jacket robs you of a substantial amount of heat (think about what it feels like when you have water on your skin in a strong wind). with shakedry the droplets just blow off and evaporation is minimized. i have encountered similar conditions with the hyperair and stayed warm and toasty with just an R1 and baselayer underneath.

    with regard to the durability, i got too close to a tree the first few times wearing it and a branch cut a small slit in it. i (stupidly) wore it while learning how to mountain bike and fell. it abraded pretty badly. so if you do a lot of bushwhacking in the rain, it may not be for you. that said, both the slit and the abrasions were fixed with repair tape and meticulous application of seam sealer-like silicon material.

    the high breathability numbers are no joke either. i am that guy in rei that holds jackets up to his mouth and tries to blow air through it. with shakedry you can actually move a surprising amount of air through it. for this reason i also use it as a wind jacket.

    the hyperair is the best rain jacket i have owned and i have no plans to upgrade it.

  14. Dano on February 3, 2020 at 1:25 pm

    Hi Andrew,

    Thanks for the nice review. I can’t just figure out what is happening in the gear industry. I have a Columbia Outdry Caldorado jacket that its quite solid (totally rainproof and relatively breathable with underarm “gill” slits) and extremely light (200 grams in Medium size). The jacket never received a “proper” review from anyone. And now, Columbia discontinued it (along with the slightly heavier and less breathable Featherweight). I asked Columbia if a new II version is supposed to come out soon and got no answer (maybe you know something?). And you also mentioned that the Gore H5 technology was retained in only one (very expensive) model. How do you explain this strange situation?

    Thanks again, Dano

    • Kim Rahbek on February 3, 2020 at 1:33 pm

      Hi all,

      Just now the Gore H5 shakedry is on sale at CAMPZ (e.g. campz.dk) for less than 200€.

    • Andrew Skurka on February 3, 2020 at 1:49 pm

      Haven’t heard anything.

    • Jo Jo on February 3, 2020 at 2:44 pm

      I think I might be able to shed some light. I had one of those Caldorado jackets. Loved it. And it died after a single season (and I’m no pro–that was about two weeks on the JMT and another two walking in Europe). Started to wet through (in the shoulders, as always). Sent it back. Columbia gave me a credit for the purchase price, which I have not used because they have nothing else I want.

    • Cathy on April 19, 2020 at 10:01 am

      I just bought a Columbia Outdry Extreme Reversible II women’s jacket. They’re available on Amazon for less than $40, as are the Blitz jackets. I don’t know if these jackets are worth $150, but at < $40 I want to try a jacket that hopefully will not wet out.

      Both the Reversible and the Blitz apparently weigh over 13 oz., so I assume they are the heavier fabric. (Columbia isn't good about providing weights on their website.) The Reversible has an inner liner, so it may be too warm for high summer use, but here in New England the major rains come in the spring. I also have a almost-new Marmot DWR jacket (I'm not sure if it's the Precip) that also weighs 13.7 oz (actually measured by me), so the DWR is still good, but I don't wear it casually in order to preserve the DWR for actual backpacking.

      Since we get a lot of rain here in the Northeast, I'm willing to carry a few extra ounces for a jacket that is more waterproof, won't wet out, and doesn't have the DWR wear problem. I don't care if it's less breathable, as I'd rather be damp with sweat than soaked with cold rain.

      I have to wonder if there's another generation of new fabrics coming soon, and these are being discontinued. Or perhaps it's just these particularly jackets being discontinued.

      • Alex Rodenberg on April 19, 2020 at 4:47 pm

        The fabric looks a bit 1980ies vinyl suity 🙂 If you get my drift.. I don’t think there will be enough people buying it. It’s just a weird material, and it’s not particularly comfortable to wear either.

  15. Seb on March 12, 2020 at 7:26 am

    Update: sent my TNF HyperAir to GoreTex and got refunded. Used the money to buy a discounted H5.

    Note on sizing: I am always medium but got an XL for the H5 and it fits perfect. I can fit a Patagonia ultralight down hoody size medium underneath with no constriction issues. As with my TNF jacket, I will be using the H5 almost everyday for biking and hiking with a pack.

    Notes on the jacket: it does not have a traditional draw cord at the bottom, instead it has a “internal waist gaiter” that I guess seals out the weather on the back, but does nothing for the front. Also, the hood sucks.

  16. Octavius on April 1, 2020 at 9:04 am

    It looks like Gore has discontinued the entire “H” line. A few items on clearance. Is the R7 a fair swap?

    • Tim on April 1, 2020 at 11:01 am

      Also as you go up in the number you get a more sport-specific performance fit. So the R7 is a very tight running-specific fit and you won’t be able to layer underneath except for a thin fleece.

  17. Roman on April 1, 2020 at 10:58 am

    Beware, there’s both an R7 and R7 trail jacket. Only the R7 trail is designed for use with a light backpack.

  18. J M on April 5, 2020 at 8:50 am

    After a season or two of using it how has it held up?

    I really liked my Columbia featherweight, but after a few seasons of solid use (probably 100+ uses including my cycle commuting and some cycle touring) it started falling apart really badly – surprisingly the cuffs and the hipbelt areas (rather than the shoulders) started flaking apart/delaminating (though the shoulders feel think and will go pretty soon i think).

    Unfortanately seems columbia don’t have a lightweight hiking aimed outdry based jacket anymore, so looking for a replacement that might hopefully last a bit longer

    • Andrew Skurka on April 7, 2020 at 1:04 pm

      I have not put 100+ days on the H5, but I’m skeptical that it will hold up as well as a traditional 3-layer fabric with a sturdy face fabric. Maybe I’ll have more to report the end of the 2020 season.

  19. Patrick Martino on April 13, 2020 at 2:29 pm

    Hi Andrew

    Great review. You noted that you recommend the shakedry for places where it does not rain often. What do you recommend for someplace where it does rain often? I live in Norway and it rains all the time!!! It can be absolute terrible weather for days or even weeks in the mountains. The brands here are different than in the States. I currently use a Bergens’ 100% polyester outer membrane jacket, that is durable as heck and has gotten me through several gales and even a whiteout in the mountains. The only problem is it is on the heavier side at 15.1 oz. Any recommendations for something that is tough and durable but that is still relatively light and can take multiple days (or even a week) of crappy rainy, snow, and sleet without completely wetting out? I am planning on doing a three month long thru hike of Norway this summer, roughly 2,000 km. I want to get a little bit lighter than 15.1 ozs for my jacket, but I am also afraid if I go too light, I am just going to be sopping wet and unprotected from the elements. I welcome your thoughts. Would the EE Visp hold up in Norway or the Montbell Versalite?

    • Ben on April 13, 2020 at 3:29 pm

      Arcteryx Alpha FL is probably the lightest gore pro jacket on the market. Swami seems to be using the montbell peak shell (discontinued)/montbell storm cruiser for high rain environments. Arcteryx Zeta FL appears to be a slightly more expensive but 3 oz lighter version of the storm cruiser (equivalent, maybe even identical fabrics from what I can tell).

    • Cathy on April 23, 2020 at 7:30 am

      Andrew has touched on this in various places, but I think the most complete discussion on his blog is here:

      https://andrewskurka.com/clothing-skills-backpacking-in-the-rain-reader-question/

      The essence is that there is no solution that will keep you dry in wet conditions. However, he discusses several options at that link.

      I’m planning on trying Outdry+umbrella on a future trip here in New England, which is another rainy area.

Leave a Comment