Top

Preview: Altra Lone Peak 3.5, Timp & King Mountain

Altra's complete trail shoe line-up. From most cushioned (left) to least (right): Olympus, Timp, Lone Peak, Superior, and King Mountain.

Altra’s complete trail shoe line-up. From most cushioned (left) to least (right): Olympus, Timp, Lone Peak, Superior, and King Mountain.

On display at the Altra booth was the next iteration of its best-selling trail shoe, the Lone Peak 3.5, plus two new trail shoes, the Timp and King Mountain.

Preview: Altra Lone Peak 3.5

Expect minor changes from the current Lone Peak 3.0 (my review). The 3.5 will retain the same voluminous last and fit, well cushioned 25 mm stack height, and moderately aggressive MaxTrack outsole.

The mesh fabric in the upper has been changed. Its pores are smaller and it is no longer patterned, but I would not expect a noticeable change in airflow or breathability. The reinforcing exoskeleton of the upper also has been tweaked. It now runs across the toe break. I did not ask for an explanation of either change.

The Lone Peak 3.5 has subtle differences with the current 3.0. Mostly some minor tweaks in the upper.

The Lone Peak 3.5 has subtle differences with the current 3.0. Mostly some minor tweaks in the upper.

Preview: Altra Timp

The Altra Timp is a new addition to the trail shoe line. It has a 28 mm stack height, which puts it between the Lone Peak 3.0/3.5 and Olympus 2.5, which are 25 mm and 36 mm, respectively.

The Timp’s upper is based on the Torin 3.0, which is Altra’s original and most popular road shoe.

The new Altra Timp

The new Altra Timp

Preview: Altra King Mountain

The other new addition is the King Mountain. It is most similar to the Superior 3.0, sharing the same last and a comparable outsole; but it has less cushioning.

Its most distinct feature is the Velcro strap that runs over the laces, designed to lock the foot in place on steep descents, when otherwise the toes can start banging into the front of the shoe. Perhaps we will see this feature added to the Lone Peak 4.0, too, since this has been a complaint of mine with both the 2.5 and 3.0/3.5 versions.

The new King Mountain

The new King Mountain

,

14 Responses to Preview: Altra Lone Peak 3.5, Timp & King Mountain

  1. Susan S January 11, 2017 at 10:47 pm #

    Hey, I’ve climbed all those peaks in the last year but in none of those shoes. Might try out the Superior.

  2. Sniff January 16, 2017 at 3:24 pm #

    Is the traction on the Timp similar to the Lone Peak?

    • Andrew Skurka January 17, 2017 at 8:33 am #

      I’m thinking so, but I don’t recall exactly. If it’s really important to you I can ask their PR person.

  3. Darius Brown February 11, 2017 at 9:48 pm #

    The Escalante is an amazing ride it’s so soft and responsive they really hit the spot on this one. The knit upper is one piece and also comfy. Definitely what I’ll be wearing on my next half

  4. jacob varekamp March 19, 2017 at 6:02 am #

    Any chance they improved the toe box height of the Altra Lone Peak 3.5?

    • Andrew Skurka March 19, 2017 at 12:02 pm #

      Only change is the fabric sub.

      The “low” toebox did not end up being a problem for me, but i was concerned about it at first. After a wear or two my foot had settled into the shoe or the upper had stretched some, and the fit felt right.

      • jacob varekamp March 19, 2017 at 12:10 pm #

        Thanks, the only Altra’s I’ve been able to find that fit comfortably are the Instinct 4’s. All other models I’ve tried haven’t been able to accommodate my awkwardly, upward pointing big toes…

  5. Rich Hollander April 10, 2017 at 11:08 am #

    I understand the Lone Peak 3.5 won’t be available until June/July. I’ve tried the 3.0 and liked it. I’m ready to purchase a new pair now. Are the upgrade worth waiting for the 3.5 or should I purchase the 3.0? Thank you.

    • Andrew Skurka April 10, 2017 at 11:57 am #

      The differences between the 3.0 and the 3.5 are very minor, basically just cosmetic. If you want to buy now, go with the 3.0.

  6. hpinson April 23, 2017 at 3:02 pm #

    I’m looking forward to the 3.5’s. It’s April, and sadly my 2.5’s just failed! Will have to wait.

    The biggest improvement I see will be the move to a fabric with smaller pores. The 2.5’s just sucked sand in through the mesh uppers, and that was the one issue I had with an otherwise wonderful breathable comfortable trail shoe.

    • Andrew Skurka April 23, 2017 at 3:31 pm #

      The 3.5’s will suck in sand just as much. It’s still a fairly porous fabric, and will not filter out Utah-style desert sand.

  7. Jim Sweeney May 23, 2017 at 12:56 pm #

    The Velcro band on the King Mtn. seems like a really good idea. I’ve been using Superior 2.0’s, and never quite get the right balance between having the laces tight enough to prevent my feet sliding forward on descents, jamming toes, and being comfortable the rest of the time.

  8. Alecia June 22, 2017 at 8:56 am #

    I am curious, is the toe box on the Timp the same as the toe box on the Lone Peaks? I love the Lone Peaks and tried to switch to Superiors and the toe box killed my toes. I would like to give the Timps a whirl, but the toe box would be the decision maker. Any help you could give would be great, thanks!

    • Andrew Skurka June 23, 2017 at 10:14 am #

      Unsure

Leave a Reply

Please prove you\'re not spam: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.