Skip to content

Preview: Salomon Odyssey Triple Crown || Altra Lone Peak alternative

The Odyssey Triple Crown is the successor to the Odyssey Pro, with which it has more similarities than differences.

The Salomon Odyssey Pro (my review) is somewhat unique: instead of being a trail running shoe that has been adopted by hikers, it’s a hiking shoe that has the comfort, breathability, and weight of a trail runner.

In spring 2019 Salomon will release the second generation Odyssey, the Odyssey Triple Crown. The target market is not subtle: thru-hikers (and other backpackers with a similar focus and style) who prefer most things about a trail running shoe, but who would benefit from hiking-specific touches like additional heel cup stability, tougher materials and construction, and a more wear-resistant outsole.

Salomon denied that the Odyssey is its answer to the Altra Lone Peak (my preview of the 4.0), which is the most popular shoe on the Appalachian and Pacific Crest Trails. The Odyssey Pro apparently did “really well” at retail, but I’m uncertain that it’s getting Lone Peak-level attention within the hiking community. At least on paper, I think it should.

Odyssey Triple Crown vs Odyssey Pro

The Odyssey Triple Crown could have been named the Odyssey Pro 2.0. It’s not an entirely new model, and it will replace the Pro. I didn’t ask about the reasoning behind the name change, but it makes sense: “Pro” may resonate with trail runners, but “Triple Crown” speaks much more to hikers.

Overall, the two generations are more similar than different. MSRP is still $140. The upper is still a mix of breathable mesh and TPU overlays. The outsole is still made of Contragrip and it retains the same pattern. And, of course, the intended application is the same.

The outsole is made of Contragrip and consists of much more rubber (read: longer lifespan) than a conventional trail running shoe.

But Salomon did make tweaks. It replaced the Vibe EVA midsole with a PU insert, which is lighter and should provide longer-lasting cushion. This switch changed the stack height — it’s now 28mm at the heel and 18mm at the toe (versus 31 and 21 in the Pro), with a 10mm drop.

I thought the Pro had a wide toebox, but the Triple Crown has “a bit more space,” according to press materials.

I thought the toebox of the Pro was roomy, but press materials indicate that the Triple Crown will be even more generous.

Finally, the toe guard and TPU overlays have been beefed up, for improved toe protection and durability.

These changes caused a small weight increase, to 11.6 oz (325 g) for men’s size 9, an increase of just 0.5 oz from the Pro.

The Salomon Triple Crown will be available on February 1, 2019.

The other colorway, for those wanting to attract attention (or be easily found) on the long trails.

Questions about the Odyssey Triple Crown? Leave a comment.


Disclosure. I strive to offer field-tested and trustworthy information, insights, and advice. I have no financial affiliations with or interests in any brands or products, and I do not publish sponsored content

This website is supported by affiliate marketing, whereby for referral traffic I receive a small commission from select vendors like Amazon or REI, at no cost to the reader.

Posted in , on August 8, 2018
Tags: ,

17 Comments

  1. Paul S on August 9, 2018 at 10:37 am

    If only they made a low/zero drop version, then Salomon could really compete with Altra.

  2. Paul S on August 9, 2018 at 10:41 am

    Also I really hope other manufacturers pick up on using PU instead of EVA for light hiking shoes. EVA always packs out and loses its support before the uppers or outsoles wear out.

  3. Gatorbait on August 9, 2018 at 11:16 am

    Is the weight quoted in the article per shoe or for the pair???

    • Andrew Skurka on August 9, 2018 at 7:02 pm

      Per shoe

  4. Travis on August 10, 2018 at 8:35 am

    I wish this was a lower drop. this last with a 4 mm or 0 mm drop would have been amazing. The durability alone would have doubled the life of any Altra is out there. Still wishful they will make changes

  5. Amy on August 16, 2018 at 11:27 am

    That “other colorway” is one ugly shoe!
    I just want to add my view that a zero or minimal “drop” from heel to toe would make me more likely to try this shoe, also.

  6. emsel on August 18, 2018 at 12:13 pm

    I’ve got the topo terraventure just now that has a wide toe box and 3mm drop. but i am sure more rubber would increase it’s lifespan, though i’ve haven’t used it much yet.

    I hope salomon makes this one with less drop

    • Chet O. on August 9, 2019 at 6:28 pm

      I switched from Altra Lone Peaks (3.0 and 3.5) to Topos. One pair is a 3mm drop and another is 5mm. Digging both of them.

  7. Mateo on August 28, 2018 at 12:16 pm

    How does the tie box compare to the Lone Peak. I love the Lone Peak mid but Sierra talus just eats them up after about 10 days. The roomy toe box and zero drop have saved my 55 yo feet with 215 lbs of stress.

  8. Jeff on September 18, 2018 at 10:32 am

    This looks like a great shoe but I am not buying a shoe with a 10mm drop. Bummed, everything else about it looks very promising.

  9. Bobby on January 7, 2019 at 7:26 am

    I am wondering if the extra spacious toebox will constitute going a half size down. I grabbed my usual Salomon size in the Odyssey Pro and almost feel like they are half a size too big in terms of length. I even compared the insoles of the Sense Ride and the OP, and the OP is longer than the Sense Ride. Kinda odd, but I would guess that’s the intended purpose when designing a thru hiking shoe.

    • Andrew Skurka on January 7, 2019 at 7:30 am

      I’ve noticed with roomy shoes that they feel like feel too long (i.e. not sized right), even though they’re probably the same length as other models. Most recently, the Salomon Ultra Pro feels a half-size too bag, whereas the SLAB Ultra (which is less roomy) fits me fine.

      Use the same test to determine the appropriate size. If you jam your toes into the front of the shoe, you should be able to put your index finger between your heel and the heel cup, snugly.

      • Bobby on January 7, 2019 at 7:33 am

        Always a good test to remember!

  10. Josh on February 16, 2019 at 5:20 pm

    Really bummed there’s no size 13 option available for the brighter colorway. I was looking forward to getting these. I wear a 13 in the Odyssey pro, I don’t think I could fit a size 12.

    • Steve on August 15, 2019 at 5:38 pm

      I’d love comments on the fit. That is, do they fit a higher arch like the Ultra or are they more suited to flat feet.

      I had some Northface 109/110s (I’ve gone through four pairs) that fit my arches but those had the goretex crack and fail after 100-150 miles on the trail.

      Great around town, nice on rock, but not a good shoe for hiking in. I’m using some Wildcats now, flipping up to Maine next week. But wondering about something that might last longer on the trail to see me through to the finish.

      Anyway, appreciate your review and your thoughts.

  11. Andrea on April 8, 2019 at 2:51 pm

    10 mm drop? No thanks. If they want to compete with Altra they need to make this zero-drop (also the only way they’d get my business for shoes).

    • Andrew Skurka on April 8, 2019 at 3:06 pm

      I don’t disagree that 10 mm is a bit excessive, but I’m also not convinced that there isn’t some benefit to a small drop, especially when carrying a pack. I don’t think there’s reason to have the attitude, Zero drop or bust.

      Backpackers must lean forward to counterbalance their load. The heavier the pack, the more they must lean. With a zero drop shoe, this lean forces muscles and tendons in the lower-leg to stretch unnaturally. With a small-drop shoe, the stretch is more consistent with the posture of an unloaded person.

Leave a Comment