Top

Preview: Altra Lone Peak 4.0 || More durable upper & new stickier outsole

The next-generation Altra Lone Peak 4.0, which will be available in August 2018. If the Lone Peak 3.0 or 3.5 worked for you, the 4.0 will probably, too.

At the Altra booth I found the Lone Peak 4.0, the next-generation of this popular trail running and thru-hiking shoe. It will be available in August 2018, and in four versions:

  • Low Mesh ($120, 10.2 oz for M’s, 8.7 oz for W’s)
  • Mid Mesh ($130, 12.3 oz for M’s, 10.3 oz for W’s)
  • Low RSM ($150, 10.9 oz for M’s, 9.9 oz for W’s)
  • Mid RSM ($160, 12.9 oz for M’s, 11.3 oz for W’s)

RSM stands for “rain, snow, and mud.” More commonly, these shoes are described as “waterproof,” which is a mischaracterization but is what it is. The RSM models will use eVent fabric, not Polartec Neoshell like the 3.0 waterproof version.

For almost an hour I spoke with the founder of Altra, Golden Harper, about the differences between the four 4.0 versions and also between earlier generations of the Lone Peak. Golden struck me as such a nice a guy that I might never say anything remotely negative about his company or products again.

Hesitant updates

The Lone Peak has been hugely successful for Altra. It’s the best-selling trail shoe in the run speciality market, the best-selling non-Salomon trail shoe in the outdoor non-speciality market, and now the most popular shoe on the Appalachian and Pacific Crest Trails, having surpassed the Brooks Cascadia.

Altra knows of changes that should be made to the Lone Peak, but it is careful in doing so. Some so-called improvements could cause a rebellion by the shoe’s fan base.

Overall, the changes made to the four-generation Lone Peak are probably less significant and fundamental than past generational updates. If you liked the Lone Peak 3.0 or Lone Peak 3.5, you will probably also like the Lone Peak 4.0, and odds are that you’ll probably like it more.


Outsole

The biggest change to the Lone Peak 4.0 is the outsole. Altra considered using Vibram MegaGrip, but to save cost it ultimately chose a proprietary style, branded as Maxtrac. Even so, the raw expense of the outsole is still about twice that of the outsole on the 3.0 and 3.5.

The new rubber compound is grippier and more durable. The lugs are more aggressive and less prone to being sheared off by sharp rocks, and constitute a greater volume of rubber.

The all-new outsole is made of more durable and better gripping rubber, and it has more lug volume.

Midsole

Less wholesale changes were made to the midsole. The last, 25-mm stack height, and foam firmness (or “durometer,” in shoe geek speak) are unchanged.

The tapering of the midsole thickness from the ball of the foot to the toes is now more aggressive. This results in more rocker and a quicker toe-off.

The TPU StoneGuard rock plate is no longer just a plain insert, but replicates the bone structure in the foot, i.e. long, independent metatarsals. The rock plate sits atop the midsole, under the foam insole. The new design should offer comparable underfoot protection, but with more flexibility.

Upper

Altra has struggled with the durability of the upper in the Lone Peak, especially the 2.5 and 3.0. With the 4.0, they sought out a mesh that appears almost identical to that used in the Salomon Speedcross, which is a proven material. I was told it has more stretch and is less boardy, however.

A V-shaped overlay surrounds both sides of the midfoot, which should improve lateral and fore/aft control. Harper believes the 4.0 will fit more securely than any previous generation of the Lone Peak.

Lateral side. Notice the V-shaped overlay that will help to secure the midfoot. According to Harper, the 4.0 should be the most secure Lone Peak ever.

Medial side.

The upper has been optimized for ventilation and water drainage. The moderately padded tongue is perforated. The toebox is made of single-layer mesh, not the customary double-layer. And the toe cap has two drain ports, to reduce the pooling of water inside the shoe after submersion.

The toe cap has drain ports on each side to allow water out of the shoe after submersion.

Gaiters

The Lone Peak retains the GaiterTrap and lace loop, which work with Altra’s gaiters and some other varieties, notably Dirty Girl. Two additional anchor points were added, however, to achieve downward tension on each side of the gaiter without using in-step strap.

Two additional anchor points were added to Altra’s gaiter attachment system. These additional side anchors prevent the need for an in-step strap, while still providing downward tension.

Fit

As previously mentioned, the 4.0 shares the same last (or foot shape) as the 3.0 and 3.5. The toebox is a little bit more open, but the midfoot and heel are slightly narrower. Generally speaking, if the 3.0 and 3.5 fit you well, the 4.0 will fit well, too.

The heel counter is back-less, which should make the 4.0 friendlier to odd-shaped feet and to those with chronic Achilles problems. Unlike with a normal heel counter, the very rear of the shoe is not stiffened with plastic.

Version differences

Besides the cuff height, the low and mid versions have a few other differences. Altra expects the mid to be more popular among hikers and backpackers, so the changes are aimed at this application.

1. The outsole on the mid uses more carbon-based rubber, which will make it more durable but less grippy.

2. The mid heel is more reinforced, providing additional stability for heavier loads and perhaps more rugged terrain.

3. The midsole is “a little bit firmer,” according to Harper, enough to be noticeable. This should make the midsole more resilient, too, instead of feeling “thin” after just a few hundred miles.

With the RSM versions, several changes will help make them more weather-resistant. The drain ports in the toe cap were eliminated, for example, and the GaiterTrap was redesigned to create a better seal.

Have questions about the 4.0? Leave a comment.


Disclosure. This website is supported mostly through affiliate marketing, whereby for referral traffic I receive a small commission from select vendors, at no cost to the reader. This post contains affiliate links. Thanks for your support.

,

83 Responses to Preview: Altra Lone Peak 4.0 || More durable upper & new stickier outsole

  1. Lukas January 27, 2018 at 1:31 am #

    Do they have the same aggressive pronation sole support on the inside?

    • Andrew Skurka January 27, 2018 at 10:21 am #

      Uncertain.

  2. Jason January 27, 2018 at 6:24 am #

    Andrew-

    I closely follow your shoe reviews, as we have very similar low-volume feets. I found the Lone Peak 3.0s very nearly great, but as you noted previously folks with our morphology really had to crank down the laces. Still, the toe box allowed me to wear a 12, even though I’m a true 12.5.

    Above you noted the midfoot was slightly more snug than previous models. Hoping you could expand on that a bit. I’m assuming it’s not Salomon/Salewa-snug, but did you still need to tighten the heck out of them?

    Thanks!
    -Jason

    • Andrew Skurka January 27, 2018 at 10:19 am #

      The sample sizes are size men’s 9, so there’s no way that I can squeeze my foot into shoes at the tradeshow.

      Harper did not elaborate on how much snugger the mid-foot will be. Definitely not Salomon/Sportiva snug. That change would alienate the fans.

      • Golden Harper February 7, 2018 at 5:17 pm #

        Dude we sample in 10.5!

        • Clark E Jensen August 23, 2018 at 12:32 am #

          Golden,

          I LOVE the 2.0 and the 2.5…Lone peak. All of my shoes are Altra, except church shoes, Whatever you guys did to the 3.0 and 3.5 made me loose a toe nail… I section hiked the AT. Climbed Whitney in a Day. I bought 4 pairs of the 2.o Yellows. Loved them. For got them on trip to Flagstaff. Went to REI bought some 3.0 Lone Peaks and Climbed Humphreys and limped down…. Lost my toe nail. Are the 4.0 version closer to the 2.o size or the 3.0 configuration??????

          • Golden Harper August 30, 2018 at 5:16 pm #

            Clark, 1.5 and 2.5 were my favorite versions personally, not that that really matters. I think that the 4’s are most similar to the 1.5’s or 2.5’s…I wore them today to run up to Hidden Peak at 11,000 feet and they were great on all terrain. I feel like they definitely give my toes more clearance than the 3’s or 3.5’s. Sorry about the toenail!

  3. dgray January 27, 2018 at 8:03 am #

    The changes to the mid designed to be more hiker oriented sound very interesting to me, but unfortunately I’m not that interested in a mid. Too bad those options don’t also come on the low model. Perhaps it would be worth a risk to give the mid mesh a try. Did you get a look at the new mid? Does it look about the same height as the current Neoshell mid?

    • Andrew Skurka January 27, 2018 at 10:16 am #

      The design of the mid cuff appeared similar if not identical to the 3.0. If it’s not the same, it’s probably just tweaked, but not like 2 inches taller of anything.

      • Carlos Ballantyne August 30, 2018 at 10:37 pm #

        You know, actually it really does matter. Better to say ‘there’s noting we can do about it’. TG I bought up about 5 pair of 2.5s and am slowly working through them. I had an incredible experience of going lame from a heel spur wearing another shoe and thought I’d have to take weeks or months off but the next day just tried my 2.5s and I swear that the longer I walked the better I felt so that at 3 miles the spur or whatever was gone. I’m waiting to try the 4.0s – the local retailer in Sedona hasn’t gotten my size in yet.

        • Carlos Ballantyne September 3, 2018 at 1:29 am #

          Had another one where my LP 2.5s saved the day. A few nights ago I smashed a toe into an opened door going to the bathroom in the middle of the night – drew blood. Lot of pain next morning. Put a bandage on it and slipped into my 2.5s around the house. Felt better than barefoot. Went out to take a 5 mile hike on a rocky Sedona AZ trail, no problema.
          If I’m more climbing than hiking on real rocky stuff I securely tape my ankles when using the LP 2.5s or other shoes also. The 2.5s stick at least as well as the Vibram sole on the NB Leadville 100 on rock. I have never had a 2.5 de-lam or come apart in any way. In that time I’ve worn thru 4 pairs and put maybe 2000+ miles on them.
          Jupiter Hikes used 5 pair of the old burgundy red LP 2.5s for his 4900 mile east coast hike http://jupiterhikes.com/2017/02/10/stats-from-my-eastern-continental-trail-thru-hike/. Note his 0 blisters.
          Like I said it does matter AND we can’t do anything about it.

    • Hal March 26, 2018 at 8:29 am #

      I agree with your statement, dgray. I wonder if Altra is aware that those wearing the Altra Lone Peak for backpacking and especially for long trail thru hikes, are typically not wearing the mid size. In fact, I would bet very few are. The greatest majority, I believe, are looking for the lightest non-water proof shoes they can find. Yes, non-waterproof because the waterproof shoes tend to only make your feet sweat more and also cause the shoe to take longer to dry out when they do get wet, which is an inevitability, no matter what kind of shoe it is. They like the (regular non-waterproof) Lone Peak for that reason and because it has a wide toe box, the built in gator trap/loop, and is extremely comfortable on the feet. Beyond that, a more durable upper, a tougher longer lasting out sole, and a stiffer mid sole, in my opinion, would also be pluses for the lightweight regular Lone Peak … as long as it doesn’t increase the weight of the shoe.

  4. Edward January 27, 2018 at 9:43 am #

    Sounds great but they still don’t make wide sizes it appears.

    • Andrew Skurka January 27, 2018 at 10:15 am #

      No, no wide sizing yet. I’m sure they’ve looked at it, but I’m assuming that the demand does not warrant it yet.

      I think I heard at the Salomon booth that the X-Ulra would be available in wide soon.

      • Steve A February 4, 2018 at 2:45 pm #

        I had a pair of the Salomon X Ultra 2 Low GTX but found the outsole to be completely useless on surfaces that were any bit wet. Did Salomon happen to mention a change to their outsole to make them usable?

        As such, I’m interested in the RSM Mid version as shoulder season shoes. I have the King MT for non-RSM need days and love them almost as much as my retired v1 Trail Glove.

        • Andrew Skurka February 6, 2018 at 8:38 am #

          I did not ask about the X Ultra, and Salomon didn’t even mention it. That leads me to think that at best it’s been updated a little bit for 2018. Wholesale changes are unlikely.

  5. Steve January 27, 2018 at 10:01 am #

    Altra shoes have saved my life, figuratively speaking. I have been a runner for almost 40 years. Years ago I developed a neuroma in my right foot that became so painful after only 2 or 3 miles that I could only run about 4 miles before the pain just shut me down. Hiking boots were like torture devices on my feet. I was an avid Adidas user at the time. So I tried Nike and walked a mile in the shoes and had to take them off and walk home barefoot because they caused such intense pain. Then I saw Altra and gave them a try. What a godsend! Altra shoes allowed me to go back to running and backpacking. I have owned several pairs of Altras now and always interested in their new offerings. I think a market they are leaving untapped is the tactical combat boot market. I’m also in law enforcement and would to see them break into that segment. I can not speak highly enough of Altra shoes.

  6. John January 27, 2018 at 12:23 pm #

    These look like good improvements overall. I’ve hoped Altra would go with the Vibram megagrip soles on the next version…hopefully this Maxtrac is comparable. I understand the costing decision, but personally would pay a bit more for sole longevity. I look forward to giving these a try. I wish they were coming out sooner, as I need a new pair. Looks like I’ll have to go grab a pair or 3.5s.

  7. Randy January 27, 2018 at 1:42 pm #

    I just hope they’ve moved to a sturdier thread for the stitching so they’ll last more than a couple of months on rocky trails. I love the megagrip on the King MTs. Any idea how this compares to their new MaxTrac?

  8. Nathan January 27, 2018 at 3:46 pm #

    Any word on strengthening the rubber toe cap part of the sole so it doesn’t come detached? Super glue fixes it, but I wish i didn’t have to.

    • Adam R July 19, 2018 at 4:34 am #

      This is the biggest problem with EVERY version of Lone Peaks there has been. After 200 miles the 2, 2.5, 3, and 3.5s all start to peel away from the shoe at the toe cap. So 200 miles in I’m forced to cover the toe cap in shoe goo to keep it from peeling further from the shoe. I get 500-600 miles a pair, but that toe cap is ALWAYS peeling.

  9. Wyoming January 27, 2018 at 4:04 pm #

    Andrew

    I have worn out multiple pairs of Lone Peaks and also Altra’s Olympus model. I am hiking several thousand miles a year all in the west – PCT, AZT, Grand Canyon and the AZ desert. Here is my take on these shoes.

    Lone Peak I feel is quite a bit overrated in performance and believe that its popularity is skewed by its low weight. I have found that on really rocky terrain the shoe just does not have enough cushioning to keep your foot from getting bruised and have witnessed a lot of folks with damaged feet who were wearing them. On a scale of 1-10 I would say its cushioning is about a 3. I have wide feet and like the toe box, but one must accept that the shoe has low lateral stability. If you are walking on loose side slopes it is a bit tenuous. The soles on the older models do not wear well and I have never gotten more than 500 miles out of a pair and the inside of the heel by then was totally disintegrated – the heel normally starts falling apart at about 200 miles.

    Olympus at 1 oz more per shoe has MUCH greater performance (and is my main shoe currently). It has much better foot protection than the Lone Peak (say a 5 on the 1-10 scale) which is sufficient that I am not getting foot bruising even with daily 20+ mile days on the rocky trails in AZ. The inside of the heels, unfortunately, still fall apart at about 200 miles and the wide toe box still has stability issues. The wear does not seem to be much different and a max at 500 miles with a totally shot shoe.

    I have had to use Shoe Goo to reglue the toes of over half the Altra’s I have owned and some at mileage below 50 miles.

    While it takes a bit of time to adapt ones body to the zero drop of the Altra’s (it is easy to cause a tendon issue until one gets stretched out) the zero drop seems to work ok. But I must admit that I cannot discern any performance benefits to the zero drop as compared to standard shoe designs.

    Altra shoes due to their tendency to wear out quickly are very expensive on a per mile basis.

    Your description of the new models is very interesting and I would query on the following.

    With the harder sole and modified rock plate how would you assess the change in foot protection and estimated change in total miles one could expect out of the shoe?

    Would you anticipate that the inner heel of these shoes will now last significantly longer time than their earlier models?

    Do you find zero drop shoes have any meaningful advantages?

    If you were to pick between the Lone Peak 4.0 and the Salomon Odyssey Pro, which you recently reviewed, which would you choose? (the Odyssey Pro was going to be my next shoe experiment and now I am torn between that and the new Lone Peak)

    Thanks

    • Scott Verwolf February 28, 2018 at 6:20 pm #

      Yes. I think they’re a great shoe but as trails wear them out fast .

      • Scott Verwolf February 28, 2018 at 6:23 pm #

        Arizona trails wear them out fast ….

    • Sreekanth May 14, 2018 at 10:35 pm #

      I haven’t used the Altras, but am a regular zero drop user for both daily commuting and for running.

      My observations with zero drop is that it significantly decreases the stress on the knee. The feet, calf and other parts of the leg take the pressure, and get stronger over time (there is a couple of muscles near my shin that didn’t seem to exist before I used zero drop. Now that I have been using zero drop for about 3+ years, when I wear a normal shoe (I have found it tough to get zero drop formal shoes), I can immediately sense the difference in the pressure on the knee.

    • Wolftrail August 12, 2018 at 7:52 pm #

      Reading these comments makes me wonder, do people not realize that these are “ultralight shoes.” Knowing that, I’m not sure how anyone would expect to get more than 400 miles out of a pair when used in rugged terrain.

  10. Alan January 27, 2018 at 5:12 pm #

    Nice review Andrew!

    • Andrew Skurka January 27, 2018 at 7:56 pm #

      Come on, you know better than that. It’s not a review, just a preview.

  11. Michael Quartuccio January 27, 2018 at 7:52 pm #

    Do you have it in a 15EE?

  12. Dara L. OhUiginn January 29, 2018 at 8:24 pm #

    Thanks Andrew. I am on my 4th pair of LPs and generally happy. Have done multiple long hikes in Canada. Japan, Scotland and Ireland with good results across the varying terrain and wet situations. My BIG COMPLAINT is that the insoles last only about 300-400 Kms. and are then pretty useless. Altura does not offer replacements so you need to get an aftermarket insole for sure which is a pain. When I brought this to the attention of Altra they were generally disinterested. So I like my LPs but they are an expensive option given the poor insole durability. Maybe the 4.0 will be better. Off I go to do the Scotland TGO and CWT in my 3.5s! I hope the comments are helpful.

    • John K February 11, 2018 at 4:38 pm #

      I’ve had great luck with CurrexSole. I needed a bit more arch support and the CurrexSole fills the wide toe box of the LP’s pretty well. While providing arch support, it is also soft in the forefoot and doesn’t add a bunch of lift in the heel.

  13. Joe January 30, 2018 at 1:40 pm #

    Good info, Andrew.

    Just to be a PITA, I will say that I’m on my 3rd pair of LP 3.0s (2 standard, and 1 Neoshell Mid for cold/snow/wet), and have been pleased with them, except for outsole durability.

    Altras have been a Godsend to me. I have a wide forefoot, but not a wide heel. Most “wides” are sloppy in the back end for me, but the Altras fit perfectly.

    I guess I’m easy on uppers, ’cause the outsoles are slick when the upper is still like-new. 4-500 miles. I run on rocky trails and slickrock, though.

    Today I ordered 2 pairs of Superior 3.0s from REI for $65 a pair.

    The nice lady at Altra (they have really knowledgeable, helpful people on the phones), said I would likely get more sole life with the Superior, and I don’t need a lot of cushion.

    I’m not poor, but I am frugal. Reckon I’ll let others pay for the latest, and continue to pay 50-60% of retail for last year’s models.

    Y’all buy the 4.0s this year, and I’ll buy them next year for ~half-price.

    • White Feather August 3, 2018 at 7:37 pm #

      I don’t go ANYWHERE my LPs without a Dean Karnasas innersole by Sole. Same for my NB Leadville 100s ( in EE & EEEE)

  14. Peter February 2, 2018 at 2:56 pm #

    How breathable is the nylon ripstop upper? Can you see light passing through it?

    • Andrew Skurka February 2, 2018 at 6:10 pm #

      It’s a tightly woven nylon, not as air permeable as mesh. I don’t own a pair of breathable Speedcross, which is the best comparison, but I don’t think you can see through it.

      So you should expect the 4.0 to be warmer and dry less quickly than earlier versions, but at the same time it will be more resistant to dirt and sand, and of course more durable. So overall maybe a wash.

      • Peter February 3, 2018 at 12:04 pm #

        I miss the breathability of Lone Peak 1.0. Running shoes are becoming less and less breatheable. Knit uppers, bootie construction in Salomon, Isofit system in Saucony….

  15. Joe February 3, 2018 at 11:42 am #

    To Steve:

    They do offer a 3.0 Neoshell Mid in black. All black. Laces, soles, not a spot of color on them.

    I have a pair, and like them. They have a “sturdier” feel, due to both the higher cuff and the Neoshell, I think.

    I prefer the low-tops for running, but these have more of a boot feel.

    Seems to me they might work for LE applications.

  16. Jim coates March 21, 2018 at 8:15 am #

    It’s good to see they are slowly improving the shoe. My problem is sizing. The 11.5 is too big for me to run in. I actually tripped over after catching the front on a tree root for the first time in my life, on my first run off road in them. If I use the next size down my toe touches the end of the shoe, can’t run I. Them either. Love the concept, and they are great every day walking around in shoes but I just can’t get them
    To work for me. I had a Mortons neuroma removed last year and really wanted these things to work.

    • Andrew Skurka March 21, 2018 at 8:22 am #

      Know the feeling like you’re between sizes. The key for me was going with size that felt slightly too small when new. But they quickly packed out, within a run or two, and nkw fit me as I would expect.

      • Charles August 1, 2018 at 11:10 pm #

        What size shoe do you wear? I wear a 13.5. Which for altra is a 14. Some 14’s and toes are at the end of the shoe. Others and the foot is swimming in a clown shoe.
        Doesn’t matter what shoe. Olympus. Paradigm. Lone peak. Superior runs real small in higher sizes.
        Sizing has been one of the main issues since day 1. Love the wide toe box. But not a fan of swimming in the toe box.
        I switch between Hoka and altra.
        But I do question a company who keeps selling to other bigger brands. Icon fitness owned them. And now Vf brand has bought them as of this April. Example. If Olympus is using vibram grip soles. Why not have your supposed bear seller, lone peak using the same vibram grip? Again cutting costs.

  17. Dave Lockyer March 23, 2018 at 2:48 pm #

    Having been a fan of the Lone Peak I’ve been trying other comparable brands (like Topo) as the outsole just isn’t up to the kind of mud we get here in the UK. I was also hoping they would opt for a vibram outsole but the maxtrac one looks interesting. Would be interested in whether you think this would be a good fit for UTMB and if not what would your shoe of choice be for that?

    • Andrew Skurka March 25, 2018 at 9:56 am #

      Let me preface by first saying that shoes are very personal. So I can only tell you what works for me, and possibly might work for those with similarly shaped feet.

      Personally, I would NEVER use the Altra Lone Peak for UTMB. My foot swims in them, fore/after and laterally. But I’m certain that some runners wore them last year, and no doubt some of them LOVED them in that race.

      I shared my UTMB shoe debate in this post, https://andrewskurka.com/2017/utmb-shoes-hoka-speedgoat-2-salomon-sense-ultra/. Ultimately I went with the SG2, although in hindsight I wonder if I should have gone with the Salomon. The SG2 is possibly over-forgiving, like running on mush.

  18. Dave Lockyer March 25, 2018 at 12:51 pm #

    I’ve recently only begun trying out Hokas to try and alleviate a PF issue so just getting a feel for them after wearing Altras for a few years. Haven’t tried the SG yet but may give them a go. I’m also keen to try the Mafate speed 2. I’ve finally got a place at UTMB after 3 years of losing out in the ballot so want to try and get things as right as possible! Thanks for posting the training interviews with David. They’re certainly helping me shape my approach to UTMB…

  19. Rusty April 8, 2018 at 10:00 pm #

    Stoked for the 4.0! Have had all previous versions and a few Superior’s as well and absolutely love the Altra footwear brand, they just work so well with my feet!! Just wish they were coming out sooner, would’ve liked to use them for races this spring/summer, that blue color scheme is one of the sharpest yet

  20. messy May 10, 2018 at 11:35 pm #

    I used to love 3.0, but I was disappointed with the weight of 3.5.
    4.0, I hope it will be lighter than 3.5.

  21. Jan Shim May 12, 2018 at 3:16 am #

    My first Altra shoes are the Superior 2.0 which I debut at a 50KM trail marathon, right out of the box. 15 hours later, I finished the race with no fatigue or blisters to report. My second pair of Altra the Lone Peak 3.5 and again I did the same, race another 50KM right out of the box and that too I suffered no issues and the medium cushion was very comfortable throughout the 14 hours.

    The one issue I have that many others have reported — notorious sizing inconsistency. I’m looking to get the Lone Peak 4.0 and I was wondering if you answer a simple question that Altra themselves got wrong the last time I checked with their reps in USA and Asia.

    Did the LP 4.0 feel the same size as the 3.5? This is important because there are no Altra stockists where I am located (in Asia) and I can only get my shoes through an online store.

  22. Brooke Pudar May 18, 2018 at 10:16 am #

    I’m considering switching over to trail runners for this summer’s JMT hike. Currently testing out La Sportiva Bushidos and love the stability but they seem a little hard on the heel. What are the key differences between these and the Lone Peaks?

    • Andrew Skurka May 18, 2018 at 10:43 am #

      The Bushido and Lone Peak are vastly different shoes, nearly on opposite ends of the trail running spectrum. The Bushido fit narrow and small-volume, are low to the ground, and have minimal cushioning. The Lone Peak are sized very generously, sit 50 percent higher, and are amply cushioned.

      I think the Bushido makes a great “high route” shoe, but I don’t think it’s a great trail shoe — it’s just not cushioned enough. A better option from La Sportiva would be the Ultra Raptor, Akasha, or Akyra.

      A lot of thru-hikers swear by the Lone Peak, but I found them too slopping for trails. If you can even fit in the Bushido, my bet is that you’ll feel similarly — it’s best for people with side and high-volume feet.

      • Brooke Pudar May 18, 2018 at 12:15 pm #

        Thanks for this advice; definitely looking to avoid sloppy since I’m used to the very stable Oboz Sawtooths.

      • Dara Ohuiginn May 21, 2018 at 12:53 pm #

        I am on my fourth pair of Lone Peaks. My current 3.5 are what I am wearing now on the Scottish TGO hike. When new they are great but the insoles flatten out at about 250kms. I also have noted the soles are almost done at about 300kms! So they really are expensive costing almost 50cents per kilometre. The sole is also beginning to delaminates as well and I have another hundred Kms to go. Going to retry Saucony ISO2. Perhaps the LP4 will be improved but they did nothing to improve the insoles despite my previous pleas. Sad given how nice they are when new.

  23. Justin Floyd July 12, 2018 at 10:31 am #

    These look great, but have a question about that new Rip Stop Upper – Is it the same as in the King MT 1.5s?
    I’ve loved my King Mt 1.5s, but have been disappointed with the durability of the upper where it creases as the shoe bends. My right shoe has worn through pretty bad, which started at around 100km. Left is fairing better, but still worn quickly. Was looking at these new Lone Peaks hoping the upper would be more durable.

    • Andrew Skurka July 12, 2018 at 10:39 am #

      No,it’s not. It’s the same fabric that Salomon has been using in their Speedcross for a while, which is a proven fabric.

  24. Syahmun Yahaya July 16, 2018 at 9:22 pm #

    i’v loved LP version 3.0 .
    Did the LP 4.0 feel the same size as the 3.5 or 3.0?
    3.5 feel narrower for me..really dissapointed bought it.

  25. Adam R July 19, 2018 at 4:41 am #

    Did it look like they had done anything to address the peeling of the sole where it attaches near the toe cap? This is the first thing to go on every pair of Lone Peaks I’ve owned. 200 miles in I always have to shoe goo it back to the shoe to prevent it from peeling further. IMO it’s the biggest problem (a longest running issue) with the lone peak model. 2 stitches at the top of the shoe where the sole connects would solve this but it’s been an ongoing issue since the 2’s.

  26. William Ball July 20, 2018 at 12:21 pm #

    I have 2 pair of Lone Peak. One is the low an the other is the Mid. I like the Mid far better than the low. It would great If they would add to the line a High stack with the moderate. Many of us need more cushion. These shoes were a god send. I have tried so many different shoes an NONE have done what these have done. A great SHOE over all. I have 11 pair of different models. But find the Paradigm to be the BEST over all.

  27. Tony Miller July 23, 2018 at 5:29 am #

    Thanks for the review AS. I Have been using LP’s for about 6 months. Generally I have been very happy with their comfort. Had some initial trouble with my calf muscles/Achilles as expected for a first time Zero Drop user but I recently did Ben Nevis generally rocky/stoney along the paths. After that walk I have felt some numbness along my metatarsal. I wonder if other LP users have had this problem?

  28. Tanya Rinehart July 29, 2018 at 2:21 am #

    I really struggled with the 3.5 after having ran and thru-hiked in the 3.0’s. My biggest issue was the reinforcement of the mesh caused a lot of rubbing on my wee toes resulting in blisters in places that never were a problem before. This new mesh for the 4.0, did it seem stretchy and durable, or just durable and rigid (aka painful)?

  29. JP July 30, 2018 at 6:54 pm #

    I absolutely love the 3.5 which are perfect for my feet. The drain holes drain water easily and reduce blisters if coupled with injinji toe socks. Does the rsm version have hot spots or swampy feeling of feet? If they’re supposed to be waterproof or close to it, how’s the ventilation? Last question, you said they’re grippier and more aggressive than 3.5, but how are they better? The grip on 3.5 is pretty damn good. I bought the timp a while back and hated them. I spent more time falling than running on the trails. Thanks, JP.

  30. Scott August 1, 2018 at 7:55 pm #

    The big toe room hasn’t been the same since the 2.5, and this doesn’t appear to change that.

    • Cujo McGregor August 10, 2018 at 7:53 pm #

      The last is the same, the 2.5 had zero overlays and support. It basically was a sock so your foot could expand it as large as needed. Great for smooth trails but I much prefer the more robust 3.5 and this 4.0. If you had a big, wide foot, the 2.5 Just allowed you to stretch the boundaries of the last shape.

  31. chris spalaris August 10, 2018 at 9:20 pm #

    Does one need to buy a half size larger for the 4.0 , I had heard this was true for previous models

  32. Dara Ohuiginn August 13, 2018 at 6:18 am #

    The issue of durability leads to a measure of $/km used. If you pay $160 for a pair of LP4 and they last 400kms then the cost is $0.40 per km. Comparing is difficult as there is almost no information in how many Kms various shoes last. The wisest people seem to be the frugal ones who buy the best on sale or last years model saving maybe 20 cents/km. A pack may cost $350 but last 5000 Kms so the cost is just .05 per KM. Given this we should all feel great about the cost of superb packs. Sleeping bags at $500 for 500 nights = $1 per night cheap! Safe hiking to all.

  33. Joe August 13, 2018 at 4:13 pm #

    Confession: I didn’t read all 58 previous responses…

    Still, I have thoughts:

    When I found the LP 3.0, I thought it was the shoe of my dreams. Then I wore out 3 pairs in under 400 miles per pair. I wore out the outside of the forefoot while the upper, and the rest of the outsole, remained like new.

    I also rolled my ankles a LOT!

    No injuries, but disconcerting nonetheless. I realized that I felt I was standing ON them, rather than in them.

    I’m a slow, careful, solitary runner, on technical, rocky trails, so cushion is not a priority for me.

    I decided to try the Superior 3.0.

    BINGO! I dropped a half-size on Altra counsel, from 12.5 to 12, and the shoe was too small. I removed the insoles, inserted the Rockplates, and perfect fit. I have over 800 MILES on my first pair! Outsole wear is dead-even, side-to-side. I have NEVER experienced even outsole wear before.

    Haven’t rolled an ankle once. I’ve even tried to, and can’t. My foot feels like it is in the shoe, rather than ON it.

    They look like they may go 2000 miles to me.

    I bought 4 more pairs on closeout, for $60 a pop.

    To me, the LP is too tall, squishy, and fragile.

    Altra forever, though. I’ve been forced to buy wide shoes all my life, because I have wide forefeet, but I get wide heels as well. I don’t have wide heels. Does anyone?

    Altras fit. I’m glad to hear that Golden is a good guy, Andrew. I’d like to meet him and thank him.

    The fit, along with low-heel, are keeping this 66 year-old codger doing his 70-90 minute trail runs 5-6 days a week.

  34. Kim M Neill August 14, 2018 at 10:47 am #

    I’ve been wearing the Lone Peak since it’s beginning, but I didn’t like the Lone Peak 3.5–too narrow; too sloppy; too high profile, compared to older LP’s. I switched to wearing the Timp, which is everything the Lone Peak was supposed to be. The new Lone Peak 4 looks promising. I also love the Superiors and have been wearing them since the beginning too (probably my favorite Altra). Thanks for the preview.

  35. Tyler August 14, 2018 at 12:04 pm #

    Anyone actually putting some miles on the LP4s? Any detailed reviews pending?

    • Andrew Skurka August 14, 2018 at 2:32 pm #

      Don’t expect one here — given the width and roominess of the LP’s relative to the shape of my food (i.e. narrow, low volume), it’s a tough review for me to do without huge caveats.

      • Tyler August 14, 2018 at 6:24 pm #

        No worries! Appreciate the response 🙂

    • Seal September 21, 2018 at 10:08 pm #

      just got a pair of 4.0s at a discount and after a 4 mile hike having everything – rough sharp rock, smooth rock faces, off camber arroyos, pavement – these are my goto shoes. For the time being I do not even need an insole as the rock plate keeps the N. AZ rocks at bay.

      From the fit, etc. there would seem to be no problem that can come up that I can’t fix by, taping my ankles, adjusting socks, fiddling around with other innersoles, etc. No more 2.5s for me.

      Some complain about the cost per km. of LPs. I cannot afford to fall as it’s all sharp rock out here and I need the very best shoe I can find. Last time I went down bad I slipped into a small arroyo traversing a cliff face, rolled into a cactus, misplaced my $190 Julbo shades, got bloody here and there.

      • Seal September 23, 2018 at 10:51 pm #

        AND in 3 hikes in 4.0s I’ve set 2 PBTs (personal best times). I’ve dialed the 4.0s in a bit by putting the older Sole moldable plastic innersoles UNDER the stock foam innersoles – street thin on right foot, Ed Viesters mountaineering innersole on left, larger foot. Left shoe with innersole weights 14.10 ounces.

        These stick as well as, or maybe even better than any Vibram sole I’ve ever worn. I was stepping/walking down 80 degree rock faces today. No slips of any kind in 17,000 steps

  36. Jim Deehr August 23, 2018 at 11:24 pm #

    I have tested Vibram MegaGrip, Adidas Continental, other soles, and now this MaxTrac rubber compound on a favorite smooth steep rock in my yard when wet. Adidas Continental is probably best, MegaGrip second, and MaxTrac third. But there is very little traction difference among them. All three are essentially the same and much better than anything else I’ve tried (Salomon Quest outsole was decent), including any other Vibram compound except IdroGrip which is no longer used on hiking footwear as far as I know. Kudos to Altra for coming up with great outsole compound. I don’t know about durability though. I’ve found that the rubber compound much more than the outsole pattern is what determines stickiness on wet rock.

    I have a B width foot and always have trouble getting a secure feeling in a shoe. I’ve tried many lacing schemes on the King Mt. and Solstice. These LP 4s feel really good without trying hard – the most secure in the width and heel I have felt in the ~30 different shoes I have tried, including about 7 altras. I haven’t been on the trail yet, but they feel like I will not be hitting toes in the end of the shoe going downhill because the shoe shape will keep my foot where it is in the shoe.

  37. JJR August 25, 2018 at 9:46 pm #

    Nope. They do not support men with wide feet.

  38. Clark August 29, 2018 at 8:57 am #

    Horrible…. very disappointing!!! Now they are just a less durable pair of merrel! They are becoming the New Balance of the outdoor shoe industry.

    • Golden Harper August 30, 2018 at 3:38 pm #

      Clark what is disappointing?
      Totally depends on where the width is. For 4 out of 5 people with wide feet, these fit them great as most people need the width in the forefoot. If your width is in the back half of your foot then Altra’s may not work, but for everyone else up to a 3E or sometimes 4E they work great.

      • J Ro September 13, 2018 at 9:51 pm #

        Golden,

        Interesting to hear you like the 1.5 and 2.5 LPs the best. I love the 2.5s!! I couldn’t bring myself to buy the the 3.0 or the 3.5, I prefer a larger toe box, a more flexible sole, and extreme breathability. I am glad to hear the 4.0 has more room for the toes and a more flexible sole, going back towards the direction of the 2.5s. I will be checking them out!

      • Doug Adam September 14, 2018 at 7:42 am #

        I ordered a pair of these based on this post, but 8 days after placing the order, my credit card charge is still “pending” and I can’t receive a reply via E-mail or phone from Altra. It’s very frustrating considering I was sent a link to check my status on iconservice, which is not even affiliated with Altra anymore per the live chat rep I spoke to. I was told 5-7 business days for the shoes to arrive, at this point they won’t even be shipped in that time frame. I spoke with someone from the social media team regarding my order, and they have replied in spotty fashion, but said my shoes “may have shipped” but couldn’t confirm. I’m at a loss here. Very frustrated. I’d just order some other shoes but I can’t even cancel this order with the lack of communication.

  39. David September 5, 2018 at 3:24 pm #

    I love the new Lonepeak 4.0, Just got back from a multi day hike – so comfortable. Do you have a recommendation for insoles? The superfeet seem too narrow. Thanks

  40. Dara September 5, 2018 at 3:48 pm #

    The insoles on Altras have poor endurance and in my experience just last about 300-400kms. I put in Suprfeet and had major foot problems as the shape of the insole affected my gait causing knee issues so a CAUTION to all on choosing insole add one. I think perhaps just a firm gel may be the best choice to have ongoing cushioning. I too would be interested in what people may be using for insoles to extend the life of the LP. At $0.50 per km footwear is the most expensive part of your kit. Safe hiking all!

  41. Carlos Ballantyne September 5, 2018 at 9:07 pm #

    Sole

    • David September 5, 2018 at 9:58 pm #

      Huh?

  42. Travis Briles September 26, 2018 at 1:17 pm #

    Hi Andrew-

    Nice post as usual. 2 questions:

    1) Can the new rock plate be removed?
    2) is there a easy way to modify dirty girl gaiters to utilize the additional side anchor points? Or maybe just buying whatever Altra is offering id the way to go?

    Thanks!
    -Travis

  43. MHC October 5, 2018 at 10:17 am #

    Just got delivery of a pair of 4.0 RSMs for running and a pair the 4.0 Mid RSMs for hiking. Haven’t run or hiked in them yet, but have been walking around in them and the uppers of both seem to make a strange hollow “folding noise” when I step. The closest I can come to describing it is the sound my old galoshes used to make when I was a kid. Has anyone else found this to be the case? Perhaps from the e-Vent fabric uppers? Or the V shaped overlay?

    It’s not terrible and I’m sure I will either get used to it or soon no longer hear it. But my concern is that, on the advice of a podiatrist I moved up half a size when ordering these. Though only half a size larger, both seem much roomier than my old 3.0 Lone Peaks and Torins and I wonder if maybe the 4.0s are sized larger this year, and the half size makes them too big for my feet.Could that be causing the fabric to flex and make the sound?

  44. xxwjtxx October 15, 2018 at 10:12 pm #

    MHC, I experienced something similar with a new pair of LP4 RSM mids, that I just did 50mi out in Yosemite on. The eVent held up wonderfully , but the crinkly laminate material altra overlaid on the face of the fabric blistered and peeled away after the first 10mi. Additionally, the toe caps delaminated on both shoes, and the midsole seperated from the upper on the left shoe. To add insult to injury, I also purchased a non-RSM pair of mids at the same time , to bring in case of warmer conditions, these too went back as there was about 1.5” of missed stitching between the upper and left tongue.

    For what it’s worth, I have been running in Altras for years and this is my 3-4th pair of LPs (I also run in Torins), and will be the third pair that I have sent back for some sort of cathestrophic failure. Both pair were incredibly comfortable, with the RSM running 1/2 size bigger (no joke) than my regular 10 in every other LP model. The RSM is also narrower and stiffer; the mesh pair were amazing, and reminded me of the older LP 2/2.5, sadly the 4.0s still had the same quality issues that we have all become accustomed to.

  45. Dara October 16, 2018 at 10:55 am #

    Not good news on the 4.0 in terms of reliability. I will hold off until there is more information and review of the quality.

Leave a Reply