Review: ZOLEO Satellite Communicator || Seamless messaging

The satellite messaging market only has two players: SPOT and Garmin, with the latter getting most of the market share. For a product that’s now so ubiquitous and high-dollar (largely because of the subscription revenue), I’d like to see more brands competing and innovating in this space.

Here’s a new one that’s worth consideration: the ZOLEO Satellite Communicator ($200, 5.3 oz), which debuted in January. It’s well priced, constructed, and engineered; and it offers a significantly improved messaging experience for both the owner and their contacts.

Review: ZOLEO Satellite Communicator

When the Garmin inReach Mini ($300, 3.5 oz) was released two years ago, it seemed like the holy grail: reliable two-way messaging, location-based weather forecasting, and functional GPS navigation in a palm-sized package. Sweet!

The ZOLEO Satellite Communicator is forty percent heavier and lacks any navigation features (which is fine — just use Gaia GPS), but outperforms the inReach in its core function: messaging.

The ZOLEO platform — comprised of the device and the app — offers seamless messaging across all connection methods. From the ZOLEO app, texts and emails can be sent using:

  • Cellular service, using a normal carrier like AT&T;
  • WiFi, like at home or a coffee shop; and,
  • Satellite, using the ZOLEO Satellite Communicator.

In comparison, an inReach owner uses at least two messaging apps (personally, Google Voice and Garmin Earthmate), often resulting in disjointed conversations and missed messages, especially for those who bounce regularly between the frontcountry and backcountry like thru-hikers, avid weekend warriors, international travelers, and residents of very rural areas.

Like the inReach devices, ZOLEO relies on the Iridium network, which offers true global coverage. While testing the ZOLEO, messages cleared the device within minutes.

The ZOLEO Satellite Communicator debuted in January. It’s a 5.5-ounce two-way satellite messenger that — when paired with the ZOLEO app — offers a more seamless messaging experience than other satellite messengers.

Key product specs

  • Two-way satellite messaging
  • Global coverage with the Iridium satellite network
  • 5.2 oz (150 g), with +0.3 oz for optional carabiner
  • $200 MSRP
  • Monthly service required ($20-$50 per month; or $4/month hold)

Device activation

Before taking ZOLEO into the field:

  • Register the device,
  • Select a service plan,
  • Download the ZOLEO app, and
  • Sync the device with your smartphone.

The ZOLEO website is well designed, in terms of both its aesthetics and intuitiveness, and I successfully sent my first message about thirty minutes after unboxing the device.

How to send messages

Messages can be sent directly with the ZOLEO unit, or using the ZOLEO smartphone app (which connects to the unit via Bluetooth).

From the device, two messages can be sent:

  • SOS, and
  • Check-in/Okay.

Notably, the unit does allow for location tracking, like on a 5- or 10-minute basis.

From the ZOLEO app, three types of messages can be sent:

  • SOS,
  • Check-in/Okay, and
  • Custom texts and emails.

SMS is capped at 160 characters; email, at 200. However, when the recipient also uses the ZOLEO app (which is free even without purchase), the cap is increased to 950 characters, or the equivalent of about six text messages.

How to receive messages

Each ZOLEO owner is given a dedicated phone number and email address. For example, the number for my demo unit was 804-616-35XX, and my email was [email protected]

I could give this information to my contacts, who could then send me messages through any device or platform — phone, desktop computer, inReach, or another ZOLEO.

This configuration is much simpler than the relatively complicated directions for sending messages to an inReach unit.

Seamless messaging

The ZOLEO app can be used to send texts and emails with a cellular, Wifi, or satellite connection, and is therefore equally functional in the frontcountry and backcountry. This prevents: having to “move” conversations to a different app, and missing messages that were sent to the wrong platform.

As an example, here is a seamless conversation I had with Dave, sent over both Wifi and satellite:

A quick conversation with friend Dave. The first three messages were sent using the Communicator; and the forth was over Wifi. I received his last message on Wifi, too.

The hardware

The 5.2-oz devices shares similar dimensions as a Canon ELPH camera (3.58 x 2.6 x 1.06 in), and lacks an awkwardly protruding antenna. It’s powered with a lithium-ion battery, and will last 200+ hours while checking for messages every 12 minutes. Operating temperature range is -4°F to 131°F.

The exterior is made of a rubberized plastic, and seems to offer a good balance of weight, durability, and grip. It’s shock-resistant, and dust- and water-resistant (IP68, MIL-STD 810G).

The unit does not have a screen. To convey activity, it instead relies on cheery beeps and four LED lights, which can blink or stay solid in green, amber, blue, and red. The beeps and lights are mostly intuitive, but until you have them memorized, pack the Quick Start Guide (or use the app).

The SOS button is well guarded by a hinged door. An accidental depressing of the SOS button is unlikely, though I’d be comforted if its snap closure required more force to open.

ZOLEO versus the competition

ZOLEO enters a market with just two other brands: SPOT and Garmin. SPOT offers the SPOT X (my review), which I wouldn’t recommend. Garmin’s inReach service is available in four devices, with my favorite being the inReach Mini (my preview) because it’s the lightest and least expensive option while still having all the functionality as the other units (assuming it’s paired to a smartphone).

How does the ZOLEO stack up against the Garmin inReach Mini?

Messaging: ZOLEO wins

The messaging reliability seems about the same between my inReach and the ZOLEO. Since they both use the Iridium network, this is what you’d expect.

Otherwise, the ZOLEO messaging experience is better in every way. For owners, the messaging is centralized (in the ZOLEO app), rather than being split between conventional messaging apps (when using cell service or Wifi) and the Garmin Earthmate app (when using the inReach). So conversations can be continuous, and no incoming messages are missed because they were sent to the app not use in use.

As an added perk, if your contacts send and recieve messages from you through the ZOLEO app (which is free), messages can contain up to 950 characters.

Extra functionality: inReach wins, maybe

The inReach devices offers GPS navigation, through the device itself (sometimes limited) and also in the Earthmate app. The ZOLEO completely omits this functionality. I think that’s fine, since I use Gaia GPS anyway.

ZOLEO also omits location tracking, whereas with Garmin it can be set to a specific frequently like every 10 minutes. As a hiker, I don’t particularly see the value in this service (as opposed to, say, a pilot or sea kayaker), but I know that some backpackers do use it.

Both devices have location-specific weather forecasting. Here is the screenshot from the ZOLEO app:

The device: inReach Mini wins

The inReach Mini has two advantages over ZOLEO. First, it’s 33 percent lighter, at just 3.5 ounces (versus 5.3 for ZOLEO).

Second, and more importantly, the Mini has a small screen that:

  • More clearly displays its status and any received messages; and,
  • Can be used to send messages, using its painfully slow virtual keyboard.

This latter use is probably rare, since the Mini will most often be tethered to a smartphone, but it’s a nice option to have “just in case.”

The single advantage of the ZOLEO is its $200 price, which is $100 less than the Mini. I tend not to put too much stock in the retail price of these units, however, since its lifetime cost is largely determined by the monthly service fees.

For size comparison: the DeLorme inReach Explorer (left), ZOLEO (center), and SPOT Gen3 (right).

Service plans: Toss up

Garmin currently offers three plans:

  • Safety: $144 per year, or $15 per month plus $25 annual fee;
  • Recreation: $300 pear year, or $35 per month plus $25 annual fee;
  • Expedition: $600 per year, or $65 per month plus $25 annual fee.

The Safety plan includes unlimited preset messages but only 10 custom messages ($0.50 per overage); tracking, location requests, weather forecasts are available but are charged a la carte. With the Expedition Plan, everything is essentially unlimited. Recreation is in between.

ZOLEO also has three plans:

  • Basic: $240 per year, or $20 per month;
  • In Touch: $420 per year, or $35 per month;
  • Unlimited: $600 per year, or $50 per month;
  • Month-to-month plans are charged a $4 per month hold fee, which is similar to Garmin’s $25 annual fee for its Freedom plans.

The Basic plan includes 25 messages total, including both standard check-in/Okay and custom. For anything beyond “just in case” use, the In Touch plan is more realistic — it includes 250 messages, or eight times more than Garmin’s mid-tier Recreation plan. Unlimited is the final option, and fairly named.

Leave a comment

  • What are your first impressions of ZOLEO?
  • What questions do you have about it?
  • How do you think it compares to existing satellite communicators like the inReach devices and SPOT X?

Disclosure. I strive to offer field-tested and trustworthy information, insights, and advice. I have no financial affiliations with or interests in any brands or products, and I do not publish sponsored content

This website is supported by affiliate marketing, whereby for referral traffic I receive a small commission from select vendors like Amazon or REI, at no cost to the reader.

Posted in , on May 18, 2020
Tags:

53 Comments

  1. Home Office desk guy on May 18, 2020 at 1:15 pm

    Thank you for researching.
    Solid review and quick to the point.

    • Bryan on October 8, 2020 at 7:11 am

      Andrew, you may have mentioned before but what are you using to recharge your phone and other electronic devices while on trail?

  2. langleybackcountry on May 18, 2020 at 1:53 pm

    A question:
    Did you get to compare battery life between the Garmins and this unit?

    A musing: Tethering
    Since it requires tethering to function at all beyond check-in and SOS, if you get in trouble you have to use the phone, whereas the InReach units have the ability to function independently. That is potentially extra demand on your phone battery and makes it more complicated to share the device (e.g., give it to someone else to cummunicate if your own phone is inacapacitated).

    • Andrew Skurka on May 18, 2020 at 1:56 pm

      On battery life, I think you’ll just have go on specs.

      Correct, the lack of device-level control creates some risks for unlikely but possible scenarios.

  3. seanranney on May 18, 2020 at 2:35 pm

    Thanks for the review, sounds great. Does the Zoleo offer tracking or is it just a messaging service?

    • Andrew Skurka on May 18, 2020 at 2:37 pm

      No tracking.

      Accidentally omitted that from the review, as it’s never a feature I use and wasn’t on my mind.

  4. Douche Packer on May 18, 2020 at 2:44 pm

    For those that aren’t interested in texting in the backcountry, check out the ACR resqlink PLB. I’ve never understood why people want to text so much while backpacking, that’s one of the things I enjoy leaving behind. Anyhow….
    Contrary to popular belief and the lack of their own advertising, it is capable of one-way texts and emails. The texts are pre-composed however, you can’t write on the fly. You can operate it without service fees, or if you want there is an option to pay a fee to be able to send as many texts and email as you like.
    The SOS signal is superior from what I’ve heard.

    • John Brown on May 18, 2020 at 10:41 pm

      Using a Personal Locator Beacon for SOS instead of a device with 2-way communication like the the inReach is borderline anti-social. If you trigger an SOS with a PLB, you are asking first responders to put themselves in harm’s way with zero information about the situation. With a 2-way communication device, you can provide first responders with additional details about the situation, so they know what they are getting into and what kind of response is required.

      • Douche P on August 25, 2020 at 8:58 am

        “anti-social” is a lil over the top, but rest assured John I’ll only use a PLB in a life or death situation when I can’t self rescue

    • James Johnston on May 19, 2020 at 5:36 am

      From what I have read online from many SAR people, I get the impression that 2 way messaging is a game changer. They can find out from you what the exact problem and urgency is, and mobilize a more appropriate response. In my mind, I imagine that “rattlesnake bite in the middle of nowhere and puking guts out” and “injured myself and can’t walk, but have shelter and food for a few days” might cause two very different responses.

  5. Bret on May 18, 2020 at 3:16 pm

    When you push the sos button does it have the same function as the inReach? Does it send out your location and have a service to start to talk to you, etc.

    • Andrew Skurka on May 18, 2020 at 3:19 pm

      Yes, you can communicate with emergency responders through the zoleo app.

  6. Michael Gillenwater on May 18, 2020 at 6:08 pm

    And there is already one other on the market. The Somewhere.
    https://www.somewearlabs.com/

    The device is more expensive, but the basic plan appears a better deal (which is what I use). I got it as an early kick start stage, so was a good deal.

  7. James Johnston on May 19, 2020 at 5:31 am

    One thing I wonder: is the performance identical to Garmin for acquiring satellite signals? The inReach is painfully slow to acquire a GPS fix even with relatively clear skies, and takes forever in tree cover, near cliffs/hills, etc. Easy to dismiss and say “well, you just need line of sight.” Yet somehow, my phone invariably manages to get a position faster. Why is that? Can another device like this one do better?

    • Christopher on April 2, 2021 at 11:42 am

      There’s a recent video by the Blazin Bakers on their AT thru-hike in which they are standing on top of Max Patch under a perfectly clear sky and their Garmin Mini is telling them no signal move to somewhere with more open sky. Hilarious (unless of course they were having a real emergency).

  8. Phillip Ferrier on May 19, 2020 at 11:35 am

    Something we’ve been testing in my workplace is Everywhere Communications. They utilize the Garmin hardware, but update it with their software creating a more seamless messaging system and the ability to track multiple units. Might be something worth checking out for your guiding, etc: https://www.everywherecomms.com/

  9. Dan Wayne on June 7, 2020 at 8:17 am

    I have both, inreach and Zoleo.
    Prefer the Zoleo and like to share why.
    The messages always work, even when unit is off.
    I can give a cell number that only family knows, and it will get messages to my phone, even when Zoleo is off.
    I see the Zoleo notification on my phone, I know it’s family, not some Chinese phone hacker trying to scam me, or a survey, etc 🙂

    • langleybackcountry on June 8, 2020 at 12:08 pm

      Can you explain what you mean by “when the Zoleo is off”? Unless I am really missing something, that is how it connects to a satellite, so your phone would not be able to receive messages from the satellite without it turned on.

      If you are in range for standard data you would continue to receive messages even if the Zoleo is turned off if you are not in airplane mode or have data turned off.

      • Andrew Skurka on June 8, 2020 at 1:03 pm

        Well the unit will not grab messages from satellites when it’s off, your messages will continue to come through the app delivered by Wi-Fi or cell service. And that’s the single biggest advantage of this platform, that the messaging experience is seamless whether you are in the backcountry or in the front country.

    • Padraic Hughes on September 15, 2020 at 12:15 pm

      HeyDan: I was wondering if you could provided a little more insight into the Zoleo.

      My partners and I are (among other things) first responders for SAR and EMS for a National Park. We are frequently out of cell service. We had hoped to use our InReach Mini’s to communicate with each other when Missions spooled up. So far this has not worked out well with the InReach. I was wondering how you thought the Zoleo would perform in the following context: SAR Member 1 is off-duty hiking out of cell range. SAR member 2 is on duty with radio and receives a Mission alert through the radio. SAR member 2 wants to use his Zoleo to contact SAR member 1 to alert them of the incident and where to respond.
      In essence, we are looking for Satellite paging and texting that actually works, which the InReach never seems to do.
      Thanks in advance for your time,
      Padraic

      • Andrew Skurka on September 15, 2020 at 2:20 pm

        Curious why the inreach has not worked for you. Inreach to unreach messaging is possible, and our guide teams use it regularly to communicate about what is happening in the field.

        The one major advantage of the zoleo is messaging happens seamlessly regardless of whether you’re in the front country or the back country. In the front country, the messages are coming through via cell or Wi-Fi; in that country, they’re coming through the zoleo. The person sending the message doesn’t need to know where the recipient is to get the message through. In contrast, if the recipient has it in reach, they’re probably not walking around town with it on, some messages sent to the inreach aren’t received.

      • Padraic Hughes on September 15, 2020 at 8:48 pm

        Thanks Andrew! I don’t know why the InReach does not work more reliably. None of us want to lug around Motorola 5000’s when we’re off duty, plus if we are out of the Park that doesn’t work either. We have had a busy season so we need a reliable solution. Thanks for all your excellent research and reviews.

  10. Jordan Tatar on June 13, 2020 at 10:07 pm

    I know you said you can not use it as a tracker and mentioned using Gaia Maps App in the review as the Zoleo does not have any navigation functions, but can you clarify on this? Looking for a product to take into the back country and use with the Gaia Map app but need a more reliable GPS receiver than the one in my phone. In addition I was hoping to use the product off shore/crossing the Atlantic while out of reception to keep in touch with loved ones while away for work. Would this suffice or could you or any others suggest another option that may be more advantageous?

    • Andrew Skurka on June 14, 2020 at 8:43 am

      If you want integrated messenger and GPS functionality, then you should look at Garmin inReach Explorer.

      If you want a messenger that can feed GPS information to your phone, then you could use the inReach Mini and your phone (with Earthmate app).

      If you’re okay with standalone messaging and GPS, then you could separately use the Zoleo or any inReach device (Mini recommended) and your phone (with Gaia).

  11. Bruce on July 12, 2020 at 7:24 am

    Thinking of getting Zoleo. With a mapping and tracking app like AllTrails on my phone, which is much easier to use than InReach/Earthmate, Zoleo seems a much better messaging device. Other than phone battery life, is there any disadvantage to this solution?

    • Andrew Skurka on July 13, 2020 at 12:48 am

      In addition to the extra demands on your phone (which is really not a big deal), you are also paying for a separate GPS nav app.

      Otherwise, I can’t see much downside.

  12. Tim C on July 21, 2020 at 3:43 pm

    Thanks for the well-structured and objective review Andrew. The Zoleo is intriguing, but there’s such a large community and eco-system around Garmin devices it’s tough to go with a newcomer. Do you have any feel for the timing of Garmin’s product cycles and if we might expect an updated mini any time soon? I think it’s been on the market two years now?

    • Andrew Skurka on July 24, 2020 at 10:12 pm

      I’m not aware of anything new from Garmin. Rumor is that we’ll see an updated SPOT before that.

    • Tim C on July 28, 2020 at 11:28 am

      So much for the Garmin ecosystem :-0

  13. Jeff Winkler on July 22, 2020 at 1:29 pm

    In you review you write “Notably, the unit does allow for location tracking, like on a 5- or 10-minute basis.” I can’t find any information in the user manual or online on this feature. The “check-in” feature includes GPS coordinates, so it’s bizarre to me that I can’t view my GPS coordinates through the app without using the “check-in” (and using up one of my paid satellite messages) nor use the GPS functionality in concert with a mapping app. Can you please elaborate? Thanks much.

  14. S on August 26, 2020 at 7:52 pm

    I found one issue that affects both InReach and Zoleo:

    Currently both use DarkSky for weather reports. DarkSky was recently acquired by Apple, and they immediately stopped supporting Android.

    At the moment it is not clear what will happen in the future, but InReach and Zoleo might have to switch to another weather provider.

    That weather provider might be worse than DarkSky.

    Personally, I do not trust DarkSky for weather reports. They seem to work ok in cities, but I have seen a few times that their model was way off in the mountains.

    Others have noticed this as well:

    https://forums.garmin.com/outdoor-recreation/inreach/f/inreach-mini/169222/weather-report-via-inreach-for-mountaineers

    Their models change all of the time, and maybe DarkSky fixed their issues, but how would we know?
    All the other weather models are permanently benchmarked against each other, but DarkSky’s models are opaque. I would not trust them with my life.

    I very much prefer Windy and Meteoblue. The ECMWF weather forecast is the best for mountain weather and tends to be superior to the NWS GFS weather model.

    If you haven’t checked out the Windy and Meteoblue apps, they are great. One of the best features are comparing multiple models (Windy) and the ensemble forecast (Meteoblue).
    For outdoor activities the ensemble forcast is a game changer as it allows to get an idea for the worst case.

    It’s a bit of a disappointment that Garmin and Zoleo cheaped out with a ‘hyperlocal’ city-weather provider, and not with a service that is trusted by mountaineers.

    • Andrew Skurka on August 31, 2020 at 7:53 am

      The timing of your comment is excellent. I just returned from two 7-day trips in the San Juan’s in southwestern Colorado, and the weather forecasts that clients were pulling on their inReach devices were utterly useless and inaccurate. On the second trip, it rained on us for four of the seven days, sometimes very hard, and I don’t think the forecast ever reported more than 20% chance of precip.

      Thankfully we had checked NWS point forecasts before we left, so we knew moisture was coming our way and were prepared for it.

      Also, I have been using inReach long enough to remember when weather forecasts were not part of their subscription packages, which prompted the creation of a workaround, WX2InReach, https://wx2inreach.weebly.com/. This handy little script pulls US forecast data provided by the NWS National Digital Forecast Database web service.

  15. Paul Van Camp on September 16, 2020 at 11:59 am

    Do messages sent from the Zoleo include embedded GPS location info so that the recipient can click on it and see on a map service (gogle maps or something comparable to Earthmate) where it was sent from exactly?

  16. slo on October 23, 2020 at 10:45 pm

    In my opinion, as far as pricing goes, the price of the device is irrelevant. There is such a difference in plan costs that when looking at total cost of ownership, the plan cost is the biggest if not only factor. I build a spreadsheet comparing costs of all platforms. I even have a formula that allows you to input how many months of use you estimate per year (or having the plan paused) and how many years you want to calculate out to. In almost every case (for the basic plans) the Zoleo is the most expensive and continues getting more expensive year after year.

    • Eric Carlson on October 26, 2020 at 4:27 am

      How many years do you expect to get out of these SLO (Mustang?)? In my estimation, the $100 savings does go away after year 5 or so, but communication ease via SMS and/or email with Zoleo sounds to be far superior. My engineering take, minus my XLS, is that Zoleo will come
      around to tracking via this device and for no more $.

  17. Freddy on November 23, 2020 at 2:55 pm

    Hi Andrew, I noticed you said the zoleo has no navigation , but you are able to navigate using the Gaia gps app. Likewise, can someone use the Google maps app to gauge their location on a map with Zoleo?
    Thanks,
    Freddy

  18. john on January 23, 2021 at 10:37 am

    Hi Andrew,

    Are you planning, at any point, to review the somewear or the bivystick?

    thank for all the good stuff,

    john

    • Andrew Skurka on January 23, 2021 at 10:45 am

      I have the Somewear, and don’t find it as compelling as the Zoleo or the inReach Mini.

      Versus the Zoleo, the device is even less capable and intuitive. Specifically, it does not have an on-board OK button, and it has just one white LED light (versus the multiple lights and colors of the Zoleo, which give you some sense of what’s going on, not as good as a screen but better than just one LED white light). Also, the messaging app and setup is not as good. No dedicated number or email address, and no option of 900 characters per text if the recipient also has the app.

      Versus the inReach Mini, the Somewear is larger and heavier, does not have a screen, and has no standalone functionality (like sending OK messages or very slowly typing out msgs on the virtual keyboard).

  19. Neal on February 5, 2021 at 11:56 am

    Do you like or use any solar power units to charge on longer trips?

    • Andrew Skurka on February 7, 2021 at 10:14 am

      Absolutely not. Portable battery banks like those from Anker and other brands are much more time-efficient and reliable. I’ve been using the Anker PowerCore 10000 for a few years now, and I’ve never depleted it on up to 7-day trips for recharging my phone, satellite communicator, and GPS watch.

      YMMV, but overall you’re better off reducing your power needs first before you decide that you need to pack in more power. For example, I can get 4-5 days of life out of my phone by putting it in airplane mode, using the GPS only for approved apps and only when they’re in use, and mostly relying on paper maps for navigation.

  20. Anthony Harlow on March 4, 2021 at 12:15 pm

    Hey Andrew! Any updates on this device in the back country and Do you still use it? I use and love Gaia GPS and CalTopo maps so I’m really leaning toward this device for ease of use and simplicity. Any new thoughts on it after using it more? Thanks

    • Andrew Skurka on March 4, 2021 at 12:38 pm

      My use period ended after writing the review, so I don’t have any long-term thoughts on it, sorry.

  21. Christopher on April 2, 2021 at 11:58 am

    My thought without owning a Zoleo is that as far as new AT thru-hikers are concerned more are carrying the Garmin Mini but would actually be happier with the Zoleo for what they are using the devices for. Both use the exact same satellite networks for SOS. More new hikers have the Garmin mainly because their impression from blogs and YouTube is its what everyone else uses so it must be best. However, since they are almost all using Guthooks for navigation anyway, and cell service is more available than you might think most places on trail (depending on your carrier), the seamless messaging with folks back home and other hikers would be a win. Garmin fans counter that Zoleo doesn’t have continuous tracking but seriously that’s a game changer? Not really for the vast majority, especially with (I believe) the Zoleo you can send a message to anyone at anytime with your GPS coordinates.

    • Andrew Skurka on April 2, 2021 at 2:30 pm

      Agreed. I think for anyone who is regularly back-and-forth between frontncountry and backcountry (thru-hikers being a textbook example), the seamless messaging of the Zoleo is a huge advantage.

      • Christopher on April 2, 2021 at 2:35 pm

        I plan on carrying a Zoleo on my upcoming NOBO Flip Flop thru hike and I’ll report back with my experience. 🙂

  22. Greg Janée on May 1, 2021 at 10:37 pm

    Hello Andrew, I recently tried out the inReach Mini on your Utah 1B trip, and I noticed that the guides were using inReach Minis, too. I’m curious how reliable you’ve found the message sending and receiving to be.

    On my trip I sent a dozen messages (the device confirmed that they had been sent), but none were actually delivered. Had I been backpacking alone my family would have been completely freaked. Mind you, I successfully sent multiple messages from this device before the trip. Oddly, when I returned I sent another message as a test, and it was successfully received… along with all the other unsent messages, as though there had been a blockage in the system somewhere.

    What’s particularly frustrating is Garmin’s unwillingness to investigate the problem. Their first response was that I wasn’t running the latest firmware, end of story. When I twisted their arm, they said the device wasn’t properly synced, ergo user error, end of story. Neither of those explanations accounts for why messages were successfully sent and received both before and after the trip, but not during the trip.

    Was I just unlucky here? Or is this a common occurrence?

    • Andrew Skurka on May 3, 2021 at 9:56 am

      Funny you mention this.

      During the Utah trips I was testing the Somewear Global Hotspot, which like the inReach Mini and the Zoleo uses the Iridium network. I was using it side-by-side against the inReach Mini, because that’s how the guide teams communicate in the field.

      The difference in message reliability was stark, leading me to thin that Garmin’s system is very flaky. With the Somewear, my experience was almost akin to a normal text conversation over cell or wifi — within seconds often, messages were going in and coming back. Meanwhile, messages sent by guides over inReach were taking hours to arrive, and sometimes would show up on the device but not sync to the app. Dave Eitemiller reported a similar issue without me even sharing my experience with him.

      • Anthony on May 3, 2021 at 10:19 am

        This is my main concern with Garmin…. reliability. I’ve had my Zoleo for about a month now and it has been flawless. The messaging couldn’t be easier and the app is pretty much idiot proof. I will do a more “Backcountry” test when I go to WV for the Dolly Sods trip with the Skurka crew. So excited for that trip! Will see how it holds up but so far I love it.

  23. Ryan K on May 31, 2021 at 8:38 pm

    Zoleo just added Location Sharing+. For an additional $6/month to whichever monthly plan you are using, you get unlimited check-in messages and pin drops every 6 minutes to 4 hours, with a map in the app that shows your up to 5 recipients a map tracking all your coordinates and time stamps.

    I had been planning to get an Inreach Mini for the past year, on the run up to hopefully a busy fully-vaxed summer 2021 hiking schedule, but the Zoleo’s dedicate number, fluid cell-to-satellite connection (I can often get a weak cell signal in the NH Whites where I hike), and ease with which my wife could track my movement on the Zoleo app, made me go ahead and purchase it today, last day of the $150 sale and free annual subscription to Gaia GPS. I think I would have needed the Recreation plan ($35) on Garmin minimum for the volume of location sharing I want, whereas I can use the Basic + Location Share plan ($26) on Zoleo, it will be cheaper over time as well.

    I tend to turn my phone off completely when I hike (I like a paper map and compass for nav) and only use GPS nav on the phone if I’m bushwacking or night hiking, so mainly I wanted a device and plan with unlimited automatic tracking for recipients, good battery life, and unlimited one-click “Still ok” messaging, for a good price. Hopefully Zoleo will be the right fit for me.

  24. Marcus on July 19, 2021 at 8:19 am

    I just have a comment on the Zoleo plan pricing. Your review seemed a bit lacking for details on it. Obviously it’s easy enough to go the Zoleo website to get details, but also the last bullet point is confusing. None of the 3 messaging plans have a $4 fee. The $4 fee is for suspending the plan. After the first 3 months of service, the subscription goes on a month to month plan. Users can switch between plans anytime (prorated fees apply), suspend the plan (this is the $4 fee option and no messages can be sent or received, but it keeps your number and email) or they can cancel their subscription and lose their number and email. Re-subscribing after this would change their number. Also a question about the Garmin. My friend has the In Reach mini and says that his number changes if he switches plans. It seems unlikely to me but is that true? I have the Zoleo and like it. It seems like his messaging was a little faster in the back country though. It takes about 1 minute for mine to send/check messages.

Leave a Comment